Senator Marty Golden Names Educators “Teacher of the Year”

Martin J. Golden

June 30, 2009

Brooklyn- State Senator Marty Golden’s annual "Teacher of the Year" awards ceremony was held last week to pay recognition to outstanding educators from throughout community schools in District 20, 21 and 22. Senator Golden invited school administrators to select one teacher from their faculty to receive this honor for the 2008-2009 school year.


Senator Marty Golden, who was unable to attend the ceremony due to the extraordinary session of the New York State Senate, sent greetings and wishes to those in attendance.

Senator Golden believes honoring outstanding educators to be an important annual event to recognize the educators who are shaping the lives of our neighborhood students.


District 20 Superintendent Karina Costantino and District 21 Superintendent Richard D’Auria presented the awards on Senator Golden’s behalf.



The teachers honored included:


Fort Hamilton High School Joann Porto

Lafayette High School Maria Costanzo

James Madison High School Elliot Haim

New Utrecht High School Patricia Perretta

Sheepshead Bay High School Ekaterina Wingate

I.S. 30 Joshua Houston

Seth Low I.S. 96 Sokol Muja

I.S. 278 Evan Lewis

Brooklyn Studio Secondary School Leah Miller

Joseph B. Cavallaro I.S. 281 Antony Solino

Dyker Heights I.S. 201 Rosemarie Polito

McKinley IS 259 Irene Ramer

Christa McAuliffe IS 187 Marlene McGarrity, David Ceci

P.S. 48K Tara Bueti

P.S. 52 Jennifer Hikelin

P.S. 100 Tatum Guccio, Nicole Cataldo

P.S. 102 Monique Stanton

P.S./I.S. 104 Barbara Kondash

P.S. 105 Leeanne Infantino, Anna Proscia

P.S. 112 Paul Stingo

P.S. 127 Joanna Paladino, Katherine Wyshosky

P.S. 160 Margie Freire

P.S. 170 Adrianne Balopitos

P.S. 176 Patricia Whalen, Barbara Lauretano

P.S./I.S. 180 Jo Ellen Schwarcz

P.S. 185 Marianne Gureli

P.S/I.S. 192 Scott Resnick, Samantha Fischer

P.S. 200 Susan Gentiles

P.S. 204 Marian Conti

P.S. 205 Shirley Kennedy

P.S. 212 Beatriz Cordoba

P.S. 215 Cara DeAngelo

P.S. 229K Marianne Kinnane, Joan Petito

P.S. 247 Maria Rocco


Picture - District 20 Superintendent Karina Costantino and District 21 Superintendent Richard D'Auria, with Senator Golden's staffers, Anthony Testaverde and John Quaglione, join for a photo at the 2009 Teacher of the Year awards ceremony. Senator Golden was represented at the event by his staff as he was held in Albany to deal with the state of affairs in the State Senate.