Brentwood Robotics Team Participated at 8th Annual Deer Park Invitational

Owen H. Johnson

February 02, 2012

Senator Owen H. Johnson recently congratulated the Bay Shore Mechanical Marauders, the Brentwood Indians, and the Deer Park Falcons for their participation in the 8th Annual Deer Park Robotics Invitational.  The post-season robotics competition, held at the Deer Park High School on November 5, 2011, was sponsored by the School-Business Partnerships of Long Island, Inc. and Deer Park Union Free School District.

Students from a total of 19 schools participated in the all-day competition using the robots they built for the 2011 LI FIRST Regional competition, held at Hofstra University in March, 2011.  Students programmed their robots, some weighing as much as 135 pounds, to compete on a 27-by-54 –foot playing field.  The daylong competition fostered teamwork among students who worked together as they solved intricate problems and engaged in friendly competition.
Winners of the invitational were the three-team alliance Patchogue-Medford Raiders, the Malverne Mechanical Mules and Comsewogue Warriors. Finalists included the Bay Shore Mechanical Marauders, the Hauppauge Robotic Eagles and the Hicksville J-Birds.

Brentwood Indians Robotics Team (Image 0629):  Front Row: Mark Oquendo
Middle Row left to right: Joe Portilla; Chris Perez; Jake Mulderig, Advisor; Brian Brooks, Advisor; Tim Zeman, Instructor; and Owen H. Johnson, NY State Senator.
Back Row left to right: Josh Burgos; Peter Flores; Kevin Brown; Oscar Travino; and Isaac