Congratulations Copiague High School Class of 2010 Top Ten

Owen H. Johnson

April 01, 2010

Photo left to right:  Assemblyman Robert Sweeney; Dariusz Sulima; Marta Sulima; Monika Sulima; Malgorzata Sulima; Senator Owen H. Johnson; and Superintendent Charles Leunig.

Marta and Monika Sulima, seniors at Walter G. O’Connell Copiague High School have made District history by becoming the first twins ever to earn the recognition of valedictorian and salutatorian, respectively.  They were among the top 10 students introduced at the February 27th Copiague Public Schools Legislative Breakfast by High School Principal Albert J. Voorneveld, Jr.

Marta Sulima, with a grade point average of 102.898, has earned the distinction of Valedictorian of the Class of 2010.  During her high school career Marta has been a member of the Science Olympia and math teams, Vice President of the National Honor Society, and a member of the Foreign Language honor Society.  She has also been recognized as a Scholar-Athlete in field hockey, and volunteers to those less fortunate through her membership in the Key Club.

Monika Sulima ranked 2nd out of 339 students and has been named Salutatorian of the Class of 2010.  She is Treasurer of the National Honor Society, a member of the Foreign Language Honor Society, and participates on the field hockey, Science Olympiad, and math teams.  She is fluent in English, Polish and Spanish.

Both Marta and Monika were accepted by early decision at Cornell University.

Senator Owen H. Johnson congratulates Marta and Monika, as well as the other Class of 2010 Top Ten students at Copiague High School who are as follows:  Purvi Shah; Darryl Bethay; Jhante Collins; Jonli Falk; Eric Maratta; Lyndsay Vollmer; Statia Thomas; and Jessica Schweit.