Senator Johnson Honors Student Stars Of SCCC

Owen H. Johnson

May 11, 2006

State Senator Owen H. Johnson (4th Senate District, Babylon), Chairman of the Finance Committee, recently presented New York State Legislative resolutions to three Suffolk Community College students from the 4th Senate District who were in Albany to receive the prestigious State University of New York Chancellor’s Awards for Student Excellence. The students attended a special awards ceremony at the Convention Center where they were presented with the awards.

The Chancellor’s Award for Student Excellence was created to recognize State University students who have combined outstanding academic achievements and a record of contributions to the university community.

Pictured, from left to right, are: Suffolk County Community College Assistant Professor of Communication and Honor Program Coordinator Dr. Steven L. Epstein; Chancellor Award recipient Jose Blanco of Bay Shore; Senator Owen H. Johnson; Chancellor Award recipient Tom Jordan of West Babylon; Chancellor Award Recipient Michael Williams of North Babylon; and Suffolk County Community College Honors Program Administrator Carolyn Clark.