Senator Owen Johnson Congratulates SUNY’s Best of the Best!

Owen H. Johnson

April 20, 2010

Senator Owen Johnson congratulates eight SUNY students from the 4th Senate District who received the prestigious New York Chancellor’s Award for Student Excellence.  The following eight students, from a total of 220 students statewide, received an overall GPA of 3.8 and have records of significant contributions to their campus communities.

Josephine Chu of Bay Shore attends Binghamton University
Keith Lusby of West Babylon attends SUNY Cortland
Kevin Knockenhauer of Bay Shore attends Stony Brook University
Kassandra Nitti of Deer Park attends Suffolk County Community College
Mary O’Neil of Amity Harbor attends Farmingdale State College
Heather Stefanescu of Bay Shore attends Suffolk County Community College
Melissa Young of West Islip attends Nassau Community College
Elena Lee of West Islip attends Farmingdale State College

“It makes me very proud to see so many students from the 4th Senate District receive such significant recognition,” Senator Johnson said.  “I join your families and friends in congratulating you on this important occasion and wish you well in your future endeavors.”

The State University of New York Chancellor’s Award for Student Excellence was created to recognize State University students who have integrated academic excellence with outstanding accomplishments in the areas of leadership, athletics, community service, creative and performing arts or career achievements.  Each recipient received a framed certificate and a commemorative medallion, which may be worn at commencement.