Senator Helming Announces 10 Youth Leadership Award Recipients

GENEVA – Senator Pam Helming today announced that 10 Wayne-Finger Lakes region high school students will receive the 2019 New York State Senate Youth Leadership Award. These awards honor outstanding student leadership and achievement in academics, athletics, arts, and community service. Local educators and community members nominated students who excel in the classroom as well as in extracurricular and volunteer activities. Senator Helming will celebrate the students and their accomplishments during a ceremony on Friday, June 7 at Seeley B. Parish American Legion Post 457 in Phelps.

“Our region is home to many outstanding young leaders who are deeply involved in their communities and serve as role models to their peers. The Youth Leadership Recognition Awards are a great way to recognize these students for their many accomplishments. The young people nominated for this prestigious award possess exceptional leadership qualities and the determination to make a difference in the future success of our communities. I am particularly encouraged by the talent, academic excellence, and outstanding community service of so many young adults in the Wayne-Finger Lakes region. We should all be extremely proud of their hard work and the ways in which they positively influence the lives of those within our community and throughout the state. I look forward to honoring all 10 of these extraordinary students as well as thanking their families, teachers, and schools for having such a terrific impact on their lives,” Senator Helming said.

The 10 award winners are:

  • Spencer Bonawaitz, a senior at Midlakes High School;
  • Sean Bronson, a junior at Waterloo High School;
  • Corrine Brown, a senior at Midlakes High School;
  • Aidan Cort, a junior at Midlakes High School;
  • Maverick Coryell, a senior at Midlakes High School;
  • Kenneth DeLand, a senior at Midlakes High School;
  • Briana McCoy, a senior at South Seneca High School;
  • Alexandria Nicolini, a junior at Waterloo High School;
  • Jennifer Schenck, a senior at Union Springs High School and a student at Cayuga-Onondaga BOCES;
  • Emma Smithers, a junior at Waterloo High School.