Gallivan Forms Agriculture Advisory Board

Senator Will Utilize Panel of 24 Local Agriculture Professionals to Help Direct Agriculture Policy

Senator Patrick M. Gallivan (R,C,I – 59th District) announced the formation of his Agriculture Advisory Board today, comprised of 24 local residents from across the four counties that makeup the 59th State Senate District.

“Agriculture is a $5 billion industry in New York State. From small family farms to large cooperatives and food manufacturers – agriculture is the lifeblood of upstate New York’s economy.” Senator Gallivan said. “This board will give me the opportunity to meet regularly with some of the leading agriculture professionals and advocates in Western New York, learn from their expertise, and ensure their interests are being served in Albany.”

Senator Gallivan will utilize the Agriculture Advisory Board to help determine state and local agricultural policy goals, formulate specific legislative initiatives, and improve the lines of communication between elected officials in Albany and the agricultural community in Western New York.

Eight members of the board are associated in some fashion with Western New York’s largest agricultural sector, the dairy industry. Also represented are vegetable and fruit growers, maple farmers, wine producers, honey makers, seed and feed providers, Christmas tree farmers, and the specialized fields of organic farming, industrial composting, farm finance, and agri-tourism.

Furthermore, the members hail from all four counties represented by the 59th Senate District; with six members each from Wyoming, Livingston, and Ontario Counties, and four members from Erie County.

“The membership of this advisory board reflects the region’s diverse agricultural community, and also points towards agriculture’s bright future and potential for growth in Western New York,” Senator Gallivan said. “Each individual brings a wealth of practical experience and I thank each of them for their willingness to lend their time and talents.”

The board will meet formally several times per year throughout the district and will add new members as circumstances dictate.

Senator Gallivan is a member of the Senate Standing Committee on Agriculture and has been a leading voice for farmers and farming communities on the floor of the Senate, having toured over 20 farms and agri-business locations across the 59th Senate District. He has previously convened an Agricultural Summit in Wyoming County, and in October hosted an Agri-Business Forum in Livingston County with New York State Senate Agriculture Committee Chairwoman, Senator Patty Ritchie.

Senator Patrick M. Gallivan’s Agricultural Advisory Board

Ryan Akin: Hemdale Farms – Dairy, Vegetables – Vice President, Ontario County Farm Bureau – Canandaigua, Ontario County

Gerald Aldinger: Aldinger Farms Inc. – Diary – Alden, Erie County

Hans Boxler, Jr.

Ella Boxler:  Boxler’s Dairy Farms, Boxler’s Maple Syrup, Boxler’s Hidden Valley Animal Adventure – Dairy, Maple, Agri-tourism –    Varysburg, Wyoming County

John Brahm:

Sherry Brahm: Arbor Hill Winery – Grapes, Wine, Jams, Jellies – Naples, Ontario County

Ken Brown: Field of Dreams Christmas Tree Farm – Evergreen Trees – South Wales, Erie County

Jim Carter: Reisdorf Bros. Feed Company – Animal Feeds – North Java, Wyoming County

Sam Casella: Member, New York State Association of Counties Blue Ribbon Task Force – Canandaigua, Ontario County

Joanne Crosman: Long Cabin Acres – Honey, Beeswax Products – Caledonia, Livingston County

Bruce Dehm: Farm Financial Consultant, Dehm Associates, LLC of Geneseo – Geneseo, Livingston County

Rob Donnan: Donnan Farms, Inc. – Dairy – Piffard, Livingston County

Peter Gugino: Peter S. Gugino Farms – Grapes – Brant, Erie County

Tom HerlihyP: WormPower – Vermi-composting, Dairy – Avon, Livingston County

Richard Jerome: Jerome’s Fruit Farm – Strawberries, Raspberries, Vegtables – Member, Ontario County Farm Bureau, Ontario County Cornell Cooperative Extension – Naples, Ontario County.

Pat McCormick: Vice President, Wyoming County Farm Bureau – Java Center, Wyoming County

Sharon Nagle: Firefly Farms – Organic Produce – Canandaigua, Ontario County

Rob Noble: Noblehurst Farms – Dairy, Anaerobic Manure Digestion – Member, Livingston County Farm Bureau – Linwood, Livingston County

Joan Petzen: Agriculture Department Program Leader, Wyoming County Cornell Cooperative Extension – Warsaw, Wyoming County

Craig Phelps: Edgewood Farms – Dairy, Seeds – Member, Genesee Valley Conservancy – Groveland, Livingston County

Carolyn Rosiek: MCR Farms, FarmThisWay Community Supported Agriculture – Vegetables, Fruits, Flowers – Brant, Erie County

Ken Van Slyke: Bessie’s Best Manure Compost – Dairy, Manure Composting – Pike, Wyoming County

Shawn Tiede: Wyoming County Cornell Cooperative Extension – Warsaw, Wyoming County

Gary Wohlschlegel: Wohlschlegel’s Maple Farm – Maple – Hemlock, Ontario County