Senator Gallivan Urges Farmers Impacted by Drought to Seek Assistance Under Federal Disaster Declaration

Erie, Wyoming, Livingston & Monroe Among 24 Counties Declared Natural Disaster

Senator Patrick M. Gallivan (R-C-I, Elma) is urging farmers impacted by this summer’s drought to seek assistance from the U.S. Department of Agriculture after the federal government declared 24 counties across Upstate New York a natural disaster.  The designation means farmers in the affected areas may be eligible for emergency loans and other assistance.

"This summer’s unusually dry weather has damaged crops and has presented serious challenges to farmers and growers across the state,” Gallivan said.  “Agriculture is New York’s leading industry and this declaration will give hard working farmers the help they need to recover losses caused by this year’s drought."

The federal government has declared 15 counties as primary natural disaster areas.  They are: Erie, Niagara, Genesee, Livingston, Monroe, Ontario, Seneca, Wyoming, Yates, Cayuga, Chemung, Schuyler, Steuben, Tioga and Tompkins.  

Another nine counties have been named as contiguous disaster areas.  They include:  Allegany, Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Broome, Cortland, Onondaga, Oswego, Orleans and Wayne.  

A disaster designation makes farm operators eligible to be considered for certain assistance from the Farm Service Agency, provided eligibility requirements are met.  The assistance includes emergency loans.  Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the disaster declaration to apply for emergency loans.  

Local FSA offices can provide further information: