Ritchie to Honor More Than Two Dozen “Women of Distinction”

Patty Ritchie

April 30, 2014

Event to Take Place Thursday at Watertown’s Flower Memorial Library

State Senator Patty Ritchie will honor more than two dozen women who have made a difference, including teachers, activists, advocates and other change-makers, through the New York State Senate’s Women of Distinction program. 

All honorees will be recognized at a special event taking place Thursday at 5:30 p.m. at Watertown’s historic Roswell P. Flower Memorial Library. 

The Women of Distinction program honors women’s history in the Empire State by recognizing outstanding leaders and everyday citizens from the present who are making a difference.

“Over the past several years I’ve been humbled to have been given the opportunity to recognize the amazing women of this region,” said Senator Ritchie. 

“From teachers who have inspired countless students to those who make it their life’s mission to help those in need, this group of women is truly dynamic and I’m excited to recognize them for their invaluable contributions to our communities.”

Last year, 17 women from Central and Northern New York were honored through the program.  This year’s honorees include the following:

Jefferson County

Joanne Lazore

Cari McAvoy

JoAnn Reed

Oswego County

Stacy Austin-Root

Jane Backus

Melissa Baker

Amanda Capeling

Norene Cook

Karrie Damm, LMFT

Sandy Delano

Carol Gazitano

Kelly Glasgow

Tracy Henry

Michelle Hughes

Maureen McClain

Melanie Proper

Denise Simmons

Roxanne Stuart

Reverend Brenda Weissenberg

Reverend Meredith Williams

Susan Witmer

Teresa Woolson

St. Lawrence County

Ilene Burke

Virginia Davey

Imogene Wager

Lila Youngs