Ritchie to Honor Veterans at Fort Drum Ceremony

28 Nominated for New York State Senate Veterans Hall of Fame

State Senator Patty Ritchie will honor 28 veterans of the US Armed Forces at a special ceremony taking place on Fort Drum Thursday, May 15th. 

Those who will be honored were nominated for induction into the New York State Senate “Veterans Hall of Fame” by family, friends, co-workers and comrades-in-arms for their military service to our nation, and their continuing work and involvement in causes that benefit and improve our local communities.

“It takes a very special, dedicated person to serve—and it takes an even more devoted person to continue to give back by serving one’s community,” said Senator Ritchie.

“From fighting for freedom during WWII to serving on the front lines during recent conflicts, the contributions made by this year’s honorees are truly remarkable. I’m humbled to be given the opportunity to honor them with this special event and thank them for their selflessness and service.”

Senator Ritchie’s Veterans Hall of Fame ceremony will take place at 2:00 p.m. at the Fort Drum USO.  Media interested in attending should contact Senator Ritchie’s office at (315) 782-3418. 

Veterans being honored at the event include the following:

Jefferson County

Bianca Amthor of Watertown: Army

Clarence Benware of Black River: Navy

Andy Cambron of Adams Center: Army

Ed Flanagan of Watertown: Army

Arthur Krahn of Clayton: Army

Joseph McLaughlin of Evans Mills: Army

Ben Scordo of Watertown: Army

Robert VanBenschoten of Henderson: Navy

Fred VanPatten of Watertown: Army Air Corps

Robert Williams of Clayton: Navy

Stanley Zaremba of Watertown: Army


Oswego County

Frances Flanagan, formerly of Minetto: Air Force

Robert Green of Fulton: Navy

Edward Hurley, formerly of Oswego: Army

Richard LaCrosse Sr., formerly of Parish: Army Air Corps

Maynard Lonis of Phoenix: Merchant Marine

Russell Marsden of Mexico: Army

Arnold Shaw of West Monroe: Army

George Smith, formerly of Oswego: Army

Donald Turk of Pennellville: Army

Wallace Whipple of Phoenix: Army

Jim Weinhoid of Fulton: Navy, Air National Guard


St. Lawrence County

John Halford of Gouverneur: Marines

Doug Hazelton of Ogdensburg: Army

Michael Marino of Canton: US Marine Corps

Edwin Pierce of Canton: Army

Darryl Sapoff of Gouverneur: Army

William Spriggs of Massena: Army