Ritchie Honors 17 Cny, Nny “Women of Distinction”

Patty Ritchie

April 12, 2013

Announces 48th Senate District “Woman of Distinction”

State Senator Patty Ritchie honored 17 Central and Northern New York women at her 48th Senate District “Women of Distinction” ceremony, held in Watertown on Thursday. Those recognized were nominated by friends, family and community leaders in Oswego, St. Lawrence and Jefferson Counties.


The New York State Senate’s “Women of Distinction” program honors women’s history in the Empire State by recognizing outstanding leaders and everyday citizens from the present who are making a difference.

“The women nominated this year are some of the best—and the brightest—leaders I have had the privilege of recognizing,” said Senator Ritchie.

“From detectives who are fighting crime and doctors who are keeping our region healthy to entrepreneurs who are growing our economy and volunteers who give of their time to make our communities better; these women represent such a wide variety of accomplishments.”

Of the nominees, Rhonda Lyn Roethel of St. Lawrence County was selected as the 48th Senate District’s “Woman of Distinction.” She is the 19th person recognized through the Senate program as a Woman of Distinction from the 48th Senate District.

Rhonda Lyn Roethel has worked behind the scenes for many years to make her community a better place to live. She is employed as a letter carrier for the US Postal Service, co-founded America 1 Realty, is a partner in NAC Logistics, and co-owns Hotzenmore LLC.

Rhonda will be honored at a special ceremony to be held in Albany on May 7th.  Her photo and biography will also become part of a display that travels across the state to bring attention to the achievements of distinctive New Yorkers.

In addition to Rhonda Lyn Roethel, the following women were also honored:

St. Lawrence County


·         Dr. Kiri Brandy

·         Kelly Chezum

·         Rose Edward

·         Laurel Lee Roethel

Oswego County


·         Jodi Fiorini

·         Nancy Fox

·         Dr. Gayanna Gilbraith

·         Jacqueline (Jackie) Gregg

·         Sandy Mensch

·         Sandy Sakonyi

·         Clara Sterio

·         Melanie Trexler

·         Jeanne Unger


Jefferson County


·         Daryl (Dee) Brown

·         Judy Goodman

·         Mary Louise Hunt

To read more about each of the nominees, please click here.