Ritchie Honors 28 Veterans From Central, Northern New York

State Senator Patty Ritchie honored 28 veterans of the US Armed Forces at a special ceremony that took place Thursday at the USO Fort Drum.



From individuals who fought on the front lines during the Battle of the Bulge to those who have served our country during more current conflicts in Iraq and Afghanistan, the diverse group of honorees were nominated for the New York State Senate “Veterans Hall of Fame” by friends, co-workers and comrades-in-arms for their military service and their continuing efforts to better our local communities. 

“From close calls in battle to taking part in events that many of us will only read about in history books, the stories of bravery, sacrifice and selflessness told by this year’s Veterans Hall of Fame nominees are truly remarkable,” said Senator Ritchie. 

“I’m humbled to have the opportunity to pay tribute to the brave men and women who have not only served our country as members of the US Armed Forces but also have made it a priority to give back to their communities in their post-military lives,” said Senator Ritchie. 


Jefferson County

Bianca Amthor of Watertown: Army

Clarence Benware of Black River: Navy

Andy Cambron of Adams Center: Army

Ed Flanagan of Watertown: Army

Arthur Krahn of Clayton: Army

Joseph McLaughlin of Evans Mills: Army

Ben Scordo of Watertown: Army

Robert VanBenschoten of Henderson: Navy

Fred VanPatten of Watertown: Army Air Corps

Robert Williams of Clayton: Navy

Stanley Zaremba of Watertown: Army

Oswego County

Frances Flanagan, formerly of Minetto: Air Force

Robert Green of Fulton: Navy

Edward Hurley, formerly of Oswego: Army

Richard LaCrosse Sr., formerly of Parish: Army Air Corps

Maynard Lonis of Phoenix: Merchant Marine

Russell Marsden of Mexico: Army

Arnold Shaw of West Monroe: Army

George Smith, formerly of Oswego: Army

Donald Turk of Pennellville: Army

Wallace Whipple of Phoenix: Army

Jim Weinhoid of Fulton: Navy, Air National Guard


St. Lawrence County

John Halford of Gouverneur: Marines

Doug Hazelton of Ogdensburg: Army

Michael Marino of Canton: US Marine Corps

Edwin Pierce of Canton: Army

Darryl Sapoff of Gouverneur: Army

William Spriggs of Massena: Army