Ritchie: Nearly 200 Tap Into Insights, Experiences, of Trailblazers at "Ladies Who Lead" Event

Patty Ritchie

June 29, 2016

Event Sponsored by Upstate Women’s Leadership Council Features Keynote by SUNY Chancellor, Panel Discussion and Recognition of Local Leaders

Nearly 200 people from throughout Central and Northern New York heard inspiring personal stories from leaders on their roads to success Tuesday night at  “Ladies Who Lead,” an event sponsored by the Upstate Women’s Leadership Council (UWLC).  Formed last year by State Senator Patty Ritchie and other local trailblazers, the UWLC aims to create more opportunities for women in our region.

Held at SUNY Oswego, “Ladies Who Lead” featured a keynote address on leadership by SUNY Chancellor Nancy Zimpher, where she spoke about the importance in believing in oneself and pursuing goals despite gender stereotypes.  The evening also included a panel discussion that featured Chancellor Zimpher, SUNY Oswego President Deborah Stanley, State Supreme Court Justice Mary Farley and CNY Central meteorologist Molly Matott.

“Far too often, women have dreams of success they could achieve, but don’t receive the support necessary to make them come true—the goal of the Upstate Women’s Leadership Council is to change that,” said Senator Ritchie.

“When we created the Council over a year ago, we set out to improve—and increase—opportunities by sharing our ideas, experiences and advice to help local women reach new heights. Through this event, we have taken another step toward that goal.  I would like to thank Chancellor Zimpher, as well as President Stanley, Judge Farley and Molly Matott for being part of ‘Ladies Who Lead,’ and inspiring people throughout our region to break glass ceilings.”

"It is often said that great things are rarely done by one person alone, and Tuesday’s event is a perfect example of how by working together we can all achieve more," said Chancellor Zimpher. "I would like to thank Senator Ritchie for asking me to be a part of the UWLC's effort to share our experiences, empower one another, and support our fellow women as we all forge new paths to success."

"SUNY Oswego prides itself on its efforts to encourage students to set high goals for themselves and to make the connections that will propel them to success in the future," said President Stanley.  "This event is just one more way that we're providing not only students, but also people in our community, with a path to accomplish their dreams. We would like to thank Senator Ritchie for involving SUNY Oswego in the UWLC's work to create more opportunities for people and look forward to collaborating again in the future."

Tuesday’s event also featured recognition of local leaders, including a number of high school students who were nominated by their principals for their accomplishments both in and out of the classroom.  Those honored included:

Angelina Aslanyan of Morristown Central School

Jenna Ballard of Oswego High School

Aryelle Barbagallo of  G. Ray Bodley High School

Amanda Bond of Belleville-Henderson Central School

Bethany Cripps of Paul V. Moore High School

Jessica Davis of Alexandria Central School

Allayna Frank of Altmar Parish Williamstown (APW) High School

Elizabeth Froats of Madrid Waddington Central School

Victoria Grace Knowlton of Watertown High School

Makenzie Kramer of Immaculate Heart Central High School

Kennedy Lamb of Mexico High School

Erin O'Brien of Indian River High School

Bailey Soper of Gouverneur Central

Kayla Sova of Sackets Harbor Central School

Sydney Waloven of Hannibal High School

Tessa Winkler of South Jefferson Central School

Diane Cooper Currier, Executive Director of Oswego County Opportunities

Karen Van Brocklin & Joan Szarka-Eddy of  “Comrades of Hope,” a support group for families of loved ones who suffer from addiction

Bev Ripka, Director of the Williamstown Library

Cindy Intschert, former Jefferson County District Attorney

Dr. Mary Margaret Small of Clarkson University

Marian Stanton, Fulton Public Library Board of Trustees President

For more information on the Upstate Women’s Leadership Council, click here.


Attn. photo editors:

SUNY Chancellor Nancy Zimpher, SUNY Oswego President Deborah Stanley, State Supreme Court Justice Mary Farley and CNY Central Meteorologist Molly Matott