Ritchie, North Country Arts Council Team Up to “Celebrate Local Artists”

Patty Ritchie

February 28, 2014

In an effort to recognize local artistic talent in Central and Northern New York, State Senator Patty Ritchie, along with the North Country Arts Council hosted a celebration of the arts Thursday evening in Watertown.

At the event those who have participated in the “Senator Ritchie Celebrates Local Artists” program were recognized.  Through the effort, two dozen artists have had their work featured in Senator Ritchie’s Albany, Ogdensburg, Oswego and Watertown offices.   The work of past featured artists can be viewed at Downtown Watertown’s Franklin Building or by clicking here

In addition, at the event, high school students from the Central and Northern New York region were inducted into Senator Ritchie’s local artists program, and in the weeks to come, will have their artwork featured in her offices.  Several high school students were also invited to perform in the areas of song and dance.

“Our region is home to so much great local talent, and this event was a way to not only highlight that, but also to thank the artists who share their amazing work with us. This event was truly special, because we recognized our region’s ‘next generation’ of artists, by honoring high school students who have exceptional artistic abilities and inviting several of those students to perform,” said Senator Ritchie.

“I’d like thank the North Country Arts Council for helping to make this event possible.  The organization is a wonderful resource not only for artists, but also for the community experience the various types of culture our area has to offer.”

Featured artists who were honored at the event are as follows:


Jefferson County

Claire Ames

Peter Basta

Marie Ingalsbe

Aurora Mosher

Mary Randazzo

Michael Ringer

Michael Simmons


Oswego County

Gale Armstrong

Phyllis DiSalvo

Sandra Dowie

Edward Elsner

James Fitzgerald

Joe Galvin

Ellen Landphere

Phillip Lee

Bonnie McClellan

Loie Mechetti

Joanne Neff

Marcella Slater

Kathryn Wehrung


St. Lawrence County

Dave Bracy

Justin Fishel

Misty Fishel

Herb Holmes

John Morrow


Featured high school artists include:


Jefferson County

Jazmine Ferguson:       Belleville-Henderson

Lauren Oh:                  Indian River High School

Carlee Nichols:            Sackets Harbor High School

Caitlyn Carlisle:          South Jefferson High School

Noelle Rogers:            Thousand Islands High School

Allison Medley:          Watertown High School

Erin Fikes:                   Immaculate Heart Central School


Oswego County

Ashlee Bishop:            APW High School

Nicole Light:               Paul V Moore High School

Cassondra Orr:            G. Ray Bodley High School

Sydney Ryan:             Mexico High School

Kayla Volkomer:         Oswego High School

Megan Lentz:              John C. Birdlebough High School

Isabel Englbrekt:         Pulaski Junior-Senior High School

Sarah McDougal:        Sandy Creek High School



St. Lawrence County

Adriania Fanelli:         Morristown Central School

Elise Franck:               Edwards Knox Junior-Senior High School