Senator Samra Brouk Honors Dr. Alice Holloway Young with Liberty Medal, New York State Senate’s Highest Honor

March 19, 2021

Media contact:
Jenna McDavid, Communications Manager

Rochester, NY - Today, Senator Samra Brouk honored Dr. Alice Holloway Young, a groundbreaking educator and community leader, with the Liberty Medal. This award is reserved for lifetime achievement and exceptional community acts, and it is the highest honor that can be awarded by the New York State Senate. Dr. Young’s impact on education in the 55th District spans more than fifty years, and in that time she has inspired countless students, educators, and community members.

“Through her work with the Rochester City School District and Monroe Community College, Dr. Young played a life-changing role in the lives of thousands of children and adults in our community,” stated Senator Samra Brouk. “She has also been an inspiration and a role model for me. It is my honor and my privilege to be able to bestow the Senate’s highest honor, the Liberty Medal, to Dr. Young.”

Dr. Alice Holloway Young started her career with the Rochester City School District (RSCD) in 1952 after moving to Rochester from the segregated south. She was among the first African American teachers in the district, and the first African American to hold the titles of Reading Specialist, Vice Principal, and Principal for RCSD. Additionally, Dr. Young wrote and supervised the Rochester City School District’s first integration programs, including the Urban-Suburban program.

As a founding trustee of Monroe Community College and its chair from 1978 to 1998, Dr. Young shaped the direction of the college. Her work with the college lives on through the Alice H. Young Teaching Internship for Ethnic Minority Graduate students, started in 1987, and the Alice Holloway Young Society for Charitable Giving of the MCC Foundation.


New York State Senator Samra Brouk (pronounced Sah-mra Br-uuk) represents the incredibly diverse 55th Senate District, stretching from the southern shores of Lake Ontario, through Rochester’s Neighborhood of the Arts, and south to Finger Lakes wine country. It includes the towns of Victor, East Bloomfield, West Bloomfield, Richmond, Bristol, South Bristol, Canadice, and Naples in Ontario County and the towns of Rush, Mendon, Pittsford, Perinton, Penfield, East Rochester, and Irondequoit, plus the east side of the City of Rochester in Monroe County. Senator Brouk serves as the Chair of the Mental Health Committee and sits on Health, Education, Elections, Women’s Issues, Aging, and Alcoholism and Substance Abuse committees.