Senate to Act on Iran Divestment Legislation Monday

January 06, 2012

Senate Majority Leader Dean G. Skelos today announced that the Senate is expected to pass the Iran Divestment Act of 2012 during the Senate session on Monday, January 9th.

“When I introduced this bill last fall, I said the Senate would take it up very early in the 2012 session and we are keeping that commitment,” Senator Skelos said.  “The Senate’s swift action shows how important it is that we stand together to condemn tyrannical governments like Iran which sponsor terrorism, have attempted to acquire nuclear weapons and threaten U.S. allies like Israel, as Iran has repeatedly done.  I applaud Speaker Silver for taking the lead on this effort and moving it forward in the Assembly.”

The Iran Divestment Act of 2012 (S5917A) - modeled after similar legislation in California and conceived with help from the Jewish Community Relations Council of New York - would prohibit companies that provide goods, services or credit worth $20 million or more to Iran's energy industry from entering into or renewing state and local government contracts. 

Federal law authorizes state and local governments to divest from companies whose interests in Iran's energy sector directly or indirectly support its pursuit of nuclear weapons. The divestment would apply to companies engaged in oil or natural gas development in Iran, as well any company found to be directly involved in nuclear power. 

The legislation directs the Office of General Services to create a list of people, corporations and other organizations with investments of more than $20 million in the Iranian energy sector. Those on the list would be excluded from bidding on government contracts. 

The bill also requires individuals or entities to certify they are not on the list when they submit bids to state and local agencies. Individuals or companies on the list that are the sole source of certain commodities or services can renew or enter into contracts on a case-by-case basis. 

The bill is sponsored by every member of the Senate Majority conference.