Senate Majority Leader John J. Flanagan Taps Boyle For Important Long Island REDC Post

August 25, 2016

New York State Senate Majority Leader John J. Flanagan today announced Senator Phil Boyle as the Senate Majority’s Representative for the Long Island Regional Economic Development Council (LIREDC). Senator Boyle replaces Senator Jack Martins, who is leaving the Senate to run for Congress.  

Senator Flanagan said, “As current chair of the Senate’s Commerce, Economic Development, and Small Business Committee, Senator Phil Boyle is a natural fit to succeed in this important role. A life-long resident of the region and dedicated public servant, Phil brings enormous experience to this position and I’m confident he will be a strong asset to achieve our goals for economic growth and job creation here on Long Island.”

Senator Boyle said, “I thank Majority Leader John Flanagan for his confidence in my ability to serve on this important council. There are millions of taxpayer dollars appropriated each year for projects recommended by the Long Island Regional Economic Development Council. As demonstrated during my long tenure in the NYS Legislature, I take very seriously the appropriation of any taxpayer money. Indeed, as Chair of the Senate Committee on Commerce, Economic Development, and Small Business, I consider it my obligation to the taxpayers of Long Island to ensure we support meaningful projects that truly promote economic development and job creation. I look forward to rolling up my sleeves and working closely with the other members of this council to vet these proposed projects through a transparent, fair process that will yield benefits to all Long Islanders.”

The LIREDC is Co-Chaired by Stuart Rabinowitz, President of Hofstra University, and Kevin Law, President and CEO of the Long Island Association. In the latest round of funding, which was awarded in December, Long Island received $98.3 million for 121 projects to help continue regional and economic growth. The council’s progress report and updated five-year strategic plan can be viewed here. 

Senators Involved