Senator O'Brien commends local appointees to state boards

ROCHESTER, N.Y. – Four constituents of Senator Ted O'Brien have been appointed to vital new state advisory boards, where they will help to guide state agencies overseeing the care of special needs groups.

"Our region is a leader in providing quality care for individuals with special needs and in having specialized knowledge about a variety of medical areas," Senator O'Brien said. "It is an honor for these individuals, and our region, to have them bring their expertise to New York State government. I congratulate the four appointees and I know that they will serve this state well."

Justice Center Advisory Council Appointees

The Justice Center for the Protection of People with Special Needs was created in December 2012. It will adopt and centralize all aspects of reporting the abuse of a variety of special needs populations, including those with developmental disabilities, the elderly and the mentally ill.

Senator O'Brien's constituents who have been named to the Justice Center Advisory Council are:

Robert L. Weisman of Pittsford, an associate professor at the University of Rochester and medical director of the Strong Ties Community Support Program within the Department of Psychiatry.

Leslie Hulbert of Victor, a member of the Board of Directors of Heritage Christian Services.

Behavioral Health Services Advisory Council Appointees

The Behavioral Health Services Advisory Council, created in March 2012, coordinates the state offices of Mental Health and Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services on issues of joint concern.

Senator O'Brien's constituents who have been named to the Behavioral Health Services Advisory Council are:

Scott Lavigne of Penfield, director of Seneca County Community Services.

John Lee of Rochester, program director for Beacon Health Strategies.

Senator O’Brien congratulates these four experts on their prestigious appointments and looks forward to working with them to improve services for New York State residents.


Sen. O’Brien represents the 55th district in the Senate, which is made up of the eastern half of Monroe County and the western half of Ontario County, including much of the city of Rochester.

Media contact:

Thomas J. Morrisey
Communications Director
office: (585) 218-0034