Legislation Allowing Towns to Set Local Speed Limits Passes Senate

Senator Bill Larkin (R-C, Cornwall-on-Hudson) announced that legislation he has cosponsored passed the New York State Senate today.  Senate bill, S.547, introduced by Senator Betty Little, would allow towns throughout New York State to set the maximum speed limit on roads within their jurisdiction.

Under current law, towns with 50,000 in population (approximately 24 towns), suburban class towns (approximately 56 towns), and all cities and villages (without regard to population) are authorized to set speed limits within their jurisdiction.  This legislation will allow the remaining
towns (approximately 852 towns), who are currently prohibited from addressing speed limit  issues within their jurisdiction without petitioning the New York State Department of Transportation, to set their own speed limits similar to other towns, villages and cities.

“I am very happy this legislation has once again passed the Senate,” said Senator Larkin.  “I urge the Assembly to consider this bill immediately and allow our towns the ability to govern their own roads without having to go through the bureaucratic red-tape of petitioning the Department of Transportation for approvals.  This is a common-sense bill and I look forward to seeing it become law,” said Larkin.

The bill has been sent to the Assembly for consideration.