Senator Martins Presents Seventh Senate District Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Awards

February 08, 2012

Senator Jack M. Martins hosted his Dr. Martin Luther King Awards for Elmont youth  in a standing room only ceremony at the First Church of God in Elmont. The awards presentation highlighted area youth from Elmont and North Valley Stream for their leadership, commitment to social justice, volunteerism, scholarship and community service. The awards presentation hosted nearly two hundred members of the community made up of family and friends of the honorees.

As honorees came forward to accept their awards with their families, biographies of award winners were read by Bobby King. Honorees were: Greg Calvaire, Thomas Brown, Kyla Ridley, Calveti “Menelik” Nyabingi, Bria Duhaney, Jeffrey Cadet, Grace Cho, Christopher Rothwell, Kyle Johnson, Jasmine Williams, Jonathan Toussaint, Daniel Alexander, Michael Braun, Patrick LaRoque, Cameron Goulbourne, Brianna St. Louis, Taylor Palmer, Bria Fisher, Elijah Ross, Dyani Dawes, Dylan Richards, Rashaan Evans and Shebin Thomas were presented with honors.