2023-J746

Senate Resolution No. 746

BY: Senator GRIFFO

COMMEMORATING the 100th Anniversary of the Remsen Volunteer Fire Company Inc.

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to honor its past and present firefighting members for a century of fire protection to the citizens of Remsen, New York, and its surrounding communities; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is proud to commemorate the 100th Anniversary of the Remsen Volunteer Fire Company, to be celebrated at their annual Installation of Officers Banquet on April 29, 2023, at the Hart's Hill Inn in Whitesboro, New York; and

WHEREAS, Fire departments are an integral part of community protection services in every locality of our State; during the past 100 years, the courageous and devoted firefighters of the Remsen Volunteer Fire Company have valiantly responded to all types of fire emergencies and have won the praise and respect of the community which they serve; and

WHEREAS, The Remsen Fire Department was formed by the Village of Remsen government in 1923 with 20 original members; the village built a 2-story building on Pine Street; and

WHEREAS, With humble beginnings, the first floor housed the fire department and equipment, and the second floor was a meeting hall for

village business; the first floor of this building still serves as the Remsen Village Hall; and

WHEREAS, The first fire equipment owned by the Remsen Volunteer Fire Company consisted of two 55-gallon chemical fire extinguishers on wheels; in 1924, a Ford Model T fire engine was purchased to serve the community and it is still in the fire station today; and

WHEREAS, With a membership of dedicated firefighters, in 1938, the Remsen Fire Department was incorporated and to this day is officially known as the Remsen Volunteer Fire Company, Inc.; and

WHEREAS, The 2023 members of the Remsen Volunteer Fire Company are: Chief, Robert Eaton; Deputy Chief, Scott Stirling; 1st Assistant, Brad Tyson; 2nd Assistant, Matt Helmer; Captain, Devin Eaton; Captain, Kevin Smith; Lieutenant, Alex Karis; Lieutenant, Cameron Raux; and

WHEREAS, Civil Officers serving the Remsen Volunteer Fire Company are: President, Tom McDonald; Vice President, Melissa Eaton; Treasurer, Randy Prosser; Secretary, Catie Ficarra; and

WHEREAS, The Board of Directors are: Mike Piekielniak, Alex Karis, Scott Stirling, Richard Eaton Jr., and Kevin Smith; and

WHEREAS, The brave firefighters of the Remsen Volunteer Fire Company are prepared to risk their lives every day to help save the lives of others and to protect homes and property from the destruction caused by fire; and

WHEREAS, In addition to the skill and devoted service demonstrated by individual firefighters, the Remsen Volunteer Fire Company reflects the history and development of firefighting over the past 100 years; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body cannot express sufficient gratitude to those devoted individuals who recognize that the preservation of life and property is a sacred responsibility and who make that responsibility their own by serving as firefighters; and

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body that we should give special recognition to those who work so assiduously for the betterment of their communities, and acknowledge publicly the heroic good works performed by the volunteer fire departments of this great Empire State, their officers, and auxiliaries; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to proudly commemorate the 100th Anniversary of the Remsen Volunteer Fire Company Inc.; and be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to Robert Eaton, Chief; Remsen Volunteer Fire Company Inc.