## 2023-J866

Senate Resolution No. 866

**BY: Senator PALUMBO** 

CONGRATULATING the Mount Sinai High School Varsity Cheerleading Team upon the occasion of capturing the NYSPHSAA Division II Small Schools Cheerleading Championship on March 4, 2023

WHEREAS, Individual and team championships are highly sought after in high school sports; this Legislative Body commends rare athletic achievements and pays special recognition to those who pursue such excellence and become examples for the youth of this great Empire State; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition helps to enhance both the moral and physical development of young athletes, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the importance of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Mount Sinai High School Varsity Cheerleading Team upon the occasion of capturing their fifth NYSPHSAA Division II Small Schools Cheerleading Championship on Saturday, March 4, 2023, at the Visions Veterans Memorial Arena in Binghamton, New York; and

WHEREAS, The superlative Mount Sinai Cheerleading program has won more state titles than any other sport in school history, and Coach Megan Wesolowski was named the 2023 Suffolk Coach of the Year; and WHEREAS, Proudly donning the school's colors of red, black, and white, family, friends, and the community at large loyally and enthusiastically supported the Mustangs throughout their journey as they ended their season with an impressive overall record; and

WHEREAS, In a sport such as competitive cheerleading, which demands athletic prowess, strength and agility, Head Coaches Megan Wesolowski and Matthew Kenefick and Assistant Coach Casey Wesolowski worked hard to hone the skills of this championship team, teaching these outstanding athletes lessons which will prove invaluable both on and off the mat; and

WHEREAS, Head Coaches Megan Wesolowski and Matthew Kenefick and all of the outstanding athletes on the Mount Sinai High School Varsity Cheerleading Team have clearly utilized dedication, determination and teamwork in providing a lasting contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the members of the Mount Sinai High School Varsity Cheerleading Team: Rosalie Calamas, Hailey Carrera, Laila Cuocco, Rosalie Eletto, Alana Fragoletti, Ava Furbush, Elizabeth Fusco, Lyla Giarrizzo, Lilah Jurgens, Ashley Kandell, Hailey Loddigs, Brooke Napolitano, DeAnna Pesce, Addisyn Romelien, and Olivia Salmon; Head Coaches Megan Wesolowski and Matthew Kenefick; and Assistant Coach, Casey Wesolowski upon the occasion of capturing the NYSPHSAA Division II Small Schools Cheerleading Championship; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the Mount Sinai High School Varsity Cheerleading Team, Head Coaches Megan Wesolowski and Matthew Kenefick and Assistant Coach Casey Wesolowski.