## 2023-K730

Assembly Resolution No. 730

BY: M. of A. Thiele

COMMENDING 20 local high schools upon the occasion of their designation as Schools of Distinction and Excellence by the New York State Public High School Athletic Association

WHEREAS, It is the custom of this Legislative Body to commend rare athletic and academic achievements and pay special recognition to those who pursue such excellence and become examples for the youth of this great Empire State; and

WHEREAS, Achieving such high honors in sports requires a rigorous work ethic, excellent teamwork, outstanding academic performance, and a desire to better yourself for the greater good; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its long-standing traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to commend 20 local high schools upon the occasion of their designation as Schools of Distinction and Excellence by the New York State Public High School Athletic Association (NYSPHSAA); and

WHEREAS, The purpose of the NYSPHSAA School of Distinction and School of Excellence Awards is to unite athletic departments in challenging their teams to achieve a statewide academic honor; this year, 84 schools earned the School of Distinction Award and 219 schools earned the School of Excellence Award; and WHEREAS, To earn the School of Distinction Award, 100% of a school's varsity teams must qualify and receive the Scholar-Athlete team award; for a team to earn the Scholar-Athlete award, 75% of that team's roster must average above a 90.0 grade point average; and

WHEREAS, This year's Schools of Distinction include: Comsewogue High
School (25 teams), Earl L. Vandermeulen High School (22 teams),
Eastport-South Manor Jr./Sr. High School (26 teams), Greenport High
School (8 teams), Miller Place High School (23 teams), Pierson
Middle/High School (10 teams), Shelter Island School (8 teams),
Shoreham-Wading River High School (26 teams), Ward Melville Senior high
School (33 teams), and Tuckahoe High School (19 teams); and

WHEREAS, To earn the School of Excellence Award, 75% of a school's varsity teams must qualify and receive the Scholar-Athlete team award; for a team to earn the Scholar-Athlete award, 75% of that team's roster must average above a 90.0 grade point average; and

WHEREAS, This year's Schools of Excellence include: East Hampton High School (25 teams), Longwood High School (22 teams), Mattituck Jr./Sr. High School (18 teams), Mt. Sinai High School (22 teams), Newfield High School (13 teams), Riverhead Senior High School (22 teams), Rocky Point High School (20 teams), Southampton High School (19 teams), Southold Jr./Sr. High School (14 teams), and Westhampton Beach Senior High School (20 teams); and

WHEREAS, Athletically and academically, the varsity teams of these distinguished schools have proven themselves to be an impressive combination of talent and hard work, reflecting favorably on their school; and

WHEREAS, All the student athletes from these select schools have

clearly utilized dedication, determination, and teamwork in providing a lasting contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to commend 20 local high schools upon the occasion of their designation as Schools of Distinction and Excellence by the New York State Public High School Athletic Association; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution be transmitted to the aforementioned NYSPHSAA Schools of Distinction and Excellence.