2023-J1738

Senate Resolution No. 1738

BY: Senator SERRANO

CONGRATULATING the Cardinal Hayes High School Football Team upon the occasion of capturing the 2023 New York State Catholic High School Athletic Association Championship on December 2, 2023

WHEREAS, Individual and team championships are highly sought after in high school sports; this Legislative Body commends rare athletic achievements and pays special recognition to those who pursue such excellence and become examples for the youth of this great Empire State; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition helps to enhance both the moral and physical development of young athletes, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the importance of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Cardinal Hayes High School Football Team upon the occasion of capturing the 2023 New York State Catholic High School Athletic Association Championship; and

WHEREAS, Beginning its inaugural season winning one game in 1942, eighty-one years later, Cardinal Hayes became the first New York City football team to win the prestigious New York State Catholic High School Football Championship; and

WHEREAS, To the praise and applause of their excited fans, alumni, and New York City at large, the Cardinals defeated the St. Francis Red Raiders of Buffalo in a decisive 40-22 victory to capture the Championship on Saturday, December 2, 2023, at Columbia University's

WHEREAS, The Cardinal Hayes Cardinals overcame extraordinary adversity on their way to a 12 and 2 record, recovering from a last place finish season a year ago, to capture the 2023 state title; student athletes experienced severe COVID-related disruptions over the course of their playing careers, which limited games and shifted seasons; the Cardinals overcame the additional novel obstacles of an accidental fire in the coaches' offices, relocating the team's weight lifting equipment outside to a school parking lot, as well as limited practice spaces; and

WHEREAS, Despite these adversities, long-tenured Head Coach C.J.
O'Neil and the Cardinals resolutely persevered through the season with a
dominating record to secure their first ever championship, adding to
Cardinal Hayes Bronx legacy much to the delight and pride of their home
borough and New York City; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach C.J. O'Neil and all the outstanding athletes on the Cardinal Hayes High School Football Team have clearly utilized dedication, determination, and teamwork in providing a lasting contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the Cardinal Hayes High School Football Team: Cleveland Charlton, Giovanni Downer, Rich Belin, Eli Garcia, Ray Boyd, Zaydan Jeffrey, Reid Jones, Andrew McFall, Aldrich Boakye, Abdoul Bah, Raymond Cruz, Ken-G Burnham, AJ Evans, William Thomas, Tyrone Smith, Alex Santos, Isiah Thomas, Mohamed Traore, Corey Rock, Souleymane Diallo, Kenneth Antoine, Jashaun Jones, John Weaver, Gary Tucker III, Sincere Crooks, Ayden Smartt, Nasiah Seabrook, Tristan Rodriguez, Diorek Lopez, Antonio Cobb, Caiden Yakah, Daniel Fraser, Virtuous Sanchez, Darryl Jenkins, Norris Anderson, Michael Dunn, Jayden Mann, Christerpher Norman, Antwan Harvey, Derik Lopez, Blake Belin and Kahmari Valentine; Head Coach, C.J. O'Neil; Associate Head Coach, George Dawson, Jr.; Offensive Assistant, Duffy Brennen; Defensive Coordinator, Marcus Reyes; Assistant Coaches, Dan Muro, Julio Figueroa, Isiah Williams, Dequane June, Lenny Donohue, Rob Huntington and Chris Bethea; Student Managers,

Nazir Dante Childs and Stephon Williams, on their outstanding season and overall team record; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the Cardinal Hayes High School Football Team and Head Coach C.J. O'Neil; Associate Head Coach, George Dawson, Jr.; Offensive Assistant, Duffy Brennen; Defensive Coordinator, Marcus Reyes; Assistant Coaches, Dan Muro, Julio Figueroa, Isiah Williams, Dequane June, Lenny Donohue, Rob Huntington, and Chris Bethea.