2023-K1041

Assembly Resolution No. 1041

BY: M. of A. Kelles

CONGRATULATING the SUNY Cortland Men's Football Team upon the occasion of capturing the NCAA Division III Men's Football Championship on December 15, 2023

WHEREAS, Individual and team championships are highly sought after in college sports; this Legislative Body commends rare athletic achievements and pays special recognition to those who pursue such excellence and become examples for the youth of this great Empire State; and

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can be achieved only through strenuous practice, team play and team spirit, nurtured by dedicated coaching and strategic planning; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the SUNY Cortland Men's Football Team upon the occasion of capturing the Amos Alonzo Stagg Bowl, solidifying their place as the NCAA Division III National Champions, held on Friday, December 15, 2023, at the Stagg Bowl in Salem, Virginia; and

WHEREAS, To the praise and applause of their excited fans, the SUNY Cortland Men's Football Team won the title in a decisive victory with a final score of 38-37 against No. 1 ranked North Central, the champions from last year; and WHEREAS, The SUNY Cortland Men's Football Team program has a storied history and tradition of athletic achievement, with eight conference titles and 12 playoff appearances in the Division III Men's Football Playoffs; and

WHEREAS, With an undefeated 6-0 conference record, the Red Dragons dominated their competition in the 2023 season, outscoring their opponents by 26 points on average per game, scoring 93 touchdowns this season, and only allowing 40 touchdowns over a 14 game season; and

WHEREAS, The SUNY Cortland Men's Football Team's historic win brought awareness to SUNY Cortland in the football world, with CBS sports and other notable publications posting about the team on social media; the Red Dragon's win is the first Football Championship the State of New York has seen since Ithaca won the 1991 national title; and

WHEREAS, Proudly donning the school colors of red and white, the community at large loyally and enthusiastically supported the Red Dragons throughout their journey as they ended their dream season with an impressive 14-1 overall record; and

WHEREAS, In a sport such as football, which demands athletic prowess, speed and agility, and mental toughness, Head Coach Curt Fitzpatrick and his coaching staff have worked hard to hone the skills of this outstanding team, teaching these incredible athletes lessons which will prove invaluable both on and off the field; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach Curt Fitzpatrick, his expert coaching staff, and all of the outstanding athletes on the SUNY Cortland Men's Football Team have clearly utilized dedication, determination and teamwork in providing a lasting contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the members of the SUNY Cortland Men's Football Team: Alex Nunez, Eli Alvarez, Jaden Alfano St. John, Alex DeRosa, JJ Laap, Rashad Tucker, Joe ladevaio, Mark Noel, Ashton Capone, Cam Crosier, Andrew Tarpey, Mike Mulhern, Zac Boyes, Luke Winslow, Mike Baloga, Cole Burgess, Vin Mazzone, Troy Churney, Matt Lotter, JT Thuesen, Kaleb Paul, Jaden Martinez, Shane Patterson, JC Mertz, Allen Flore, Patrick Luby, Ryan Isom, Dennis DeBellis, Tyson Taylor, Logan Hurd, Naz Jean-Lubin, Kyle Stracher, Ryan Costello, Jack Winey, Matt Fuggini, Marco McKnight, Brett Harvey, Max Barone, Steve Riedel, Ethan Gallo, Ellis Einbinder, Aidan Lochner, Garret Decker, David Romer, Tziah Owens, Craig Ackerman, Sam Cotton, Brandon Beh, Anthony Luciano, Joe Ruggieri, Max Llewellyn, Kymanni Dennis, Gavin Guers, Dan Becker, Ryan Bitka, Zack Thuesen, Jake Ward, Bryce Carroll, Aaron Henry, Nicholas El Chami, Nate Parsons, Sahej Walia, George Gjelaj, Wallace Wilson, Jon Kabes, Jack McGrath, Will Laun, Jack Bonawandt, Alex Roca, Johnnie Booker III, Dougie Travis, Hunter Hathaway, Jayden Lont, Aidan Glynn, Kevin Whalen, Nate Graser. Jake Hromada, Cody Aikey, Will McCarthy, Connor Mooney, Jayson Zeva, Ravi Dass Jr., Joey Penizotto, Omari Kendrick, Andrew Fiore, Joey Muscarella, Nick Jordan, Connor Mahunik, Jeff Halusic, Aden Wiser, Will Ligarzewski, Sam Maddi, Parker Kristoff, Junius Keys, Nick Lardaro, Steve Baker, Will Ruckert, Matt Ferrer, Christian Powell, Nick Aldino, Dion Brucaj, Jeff Cubino, Jackson Cypher, Jacob Dobricki, Gino Fulco, Craig Galea, Aaron Jentz, Dylan Kiely, Matt Klamm, Ty Kolar, Joey Leuzzi, CJ Messina, Patrick Moloney, Aaron Nieves, Sean O'Brien, Steve Otremba, CJ Ozolins, Tomaso Ramos, Logan Wendt, Joe Young and Austin Zaccagnino; Head Coach, Curt Fitzpatrick; Assistant Coaches: Patrick Rotchford, Steve Cushing, Nolan Foley, Paul Shaffner, Kyle Gallagher, Taj-Amir Torres, Joe Mack, Bill Spicer, Mike Connors; and Strength and Conditioning Coordinator Phill Wiltshire upon the occasion of capturing the NCAA Division III Men's Football Championship on December 15, 2023; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the SUNY Cortland Men's Football Team; Head Coach, Curt Fitzpatrick; Assistant Coaches: Patrick Rotchford, Steve Cushing, Nolan Foley, Paul Shaffner, Kyle Gallagher, Taj-Amir Torres, Joe Mack, Bill Spicer, Mike Connors; and Strength and Conditioning Coordinator Phill Wiltshire.