2023-K1062

Assembly Resolution No. 1062

BY: M. of A. Friend

CONGRATULATING the Tioga High School Wrestling Team upon the occasion of capturing its fifth consecutive NYSPHSAA Division II Wrestling Championship title

WHEREAS, Individual and team championships are highly sought after in high school sports; this Legislative Body commends rare athletic achievements and pays special recognition to those who pursue such excellence and become examples for the youth of this great Empire State; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition helps to enhance both the moral and physical development of young athletes, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the importance of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Tioga High School Wrestling Team upon the occasion of capturing its fifth consecutive NYSPHSAA Division II Wrestling Championship title on February 23-24, 2024, at the MVP Arena in Albany, New York; and

WHEREAS, To the praise and applause of their excited fans, the Tioga Tigers also defeated John Glenn High School by a decisive score of 56-12 to capture their third consecutive NYSPHSAA Division II Wrestling Dual Meet Championship title on Saturday, January 27, 2024, at Onondaga WHEREAS, At the Dual Meet Championship, Tioga wrestlers occupied five top-three positions, pinned 14 opponents in an aggregate 40:50 time, and picked up 207 match points- both best in Division II; and

WHEREAS, Proudly donning the school's colors of blue and gold, family, friends, and the community at large loyally and enthusiastically supported the Tigers throughout their journey as they ended their season with an impressive overall record and winning streak; and

WHEREAS, In a sport such as wrestling, which demands athletic prowess, speed, and agility, Coaches Kris Harrington, Jason Bellis, Jon Martin, and Ryan MacWhinnie, and David Crow worked hard to hone the skills of this championship team, teaching these outstanding athletes lessons which will prove invaluable both on and off the mat; and

WHEREAS, Coaches Kris Harrington, Jason Bellis, Jon Martin, Ryan MacWhinnie, and David Crow, along with all of the outstanding athletes on the Tioga High School Wrestling Team, have clearly utilized dedication, determination, and teamwork in providing a lasting contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the members of the Tioga High School Wrestling Team: Austin Babcock, Deakon Bailey, Caden Bellis, Levi Bellis, Logan Bellis, Kadin Cole, Jayden Duncanson, Ousmane Duncanson, Garrett Godfrey, James Howey,

Johna Lamb, Drew Macumber, Tate MaCauley, Brayden MacWhinnie, Mark McCane, Declan McKee, Tyler Roe, Max Stauder, Gianni Silvestri, and Connor Streeter; and Coaches, Kris Harrington, Jason Bellis, Jon Martin, Ryan MacWhinnie, and David Crow upon the occasion of capturing the 2024 NYSPHSAA Division II Dual Meet Wrestling Championship; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the Tioga High School Wrestling Team, and Coaches Kris Harrington, Jason Bellis, Jon Martin, Ryan MacWhinnie, and David Crow.