2023-K2018

Assembly Resolution No. 2018

BY: M. of A. Miller

COMMEMORATING the 100th Anniversary of the Durhamville Fire Department to be celebrated on April 7, 2024

WHEREAS, The brave firefighters of the Durhamville Fire Department are prepared to risk their lives every day to help save the lives of others and to protect homes and property from the destruction caused by fire; and

WHEREAS, In addition to the skill and devoted service demonstrated by individual firefighters, the Durhamville Fire Department reflects the history and development of firefighting over the past century; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is proud to commemorate the 100th Anniversary of the Durhamville Fire Department and to honor its past and present firefighting members for 100 years of fire protection to the citizens of Durhamville, New York and its surrounding communities; and

WHEREAS, Heeding the call after a local church fire, the Durhamville Fire Department was founded on April 7, 1924; it was started by its founders in a small one-room structure that still stands today, which is located across the street from the Durhamville Post Office; and

WHEREAS, Growing from humble beginnings of 30 members, the Durhamville Fire Department has since grown and in the late 1940s to early 1950s, a new building was built on Church Street that has received several additions over the years; and

WHEREAS, The Durhamville Fire Department gradually built their

collection of equipment, their first fire truck body was made by J.J. Fleih of Syracuse and their first fire truck chassis was a Reo Chassis purchased from Foster Motor Sales of Oneida; in 1898, Frank Reynolds and Herman Keller started a movement for a fire company, however, it failed to develop past the purchase of a hand pumper and that was the first piece of equipment used in the newly founded department; and

WHEREAS, Those in attendance for the first meeting were: Supervisor A.H. Mayer, Chairman; Prof. E.W. Claus, Temporary Secretary; Frank H. Ernenwein, Fire Chief; Daniel J. Covell, Oneida Insurance Man; and J.H. Russell, Foamite-Childs Organization Utica; at the end of this initial gathering, Herman F. Keller was elected Fire Chief; A.H. Mayer was elected President; Fred Geisenhoff was elected Vice President; Herman F. Keller was elected Treasurer; and lastly, Stephen Ennis was elected Secretary; and

WHEREAS, The current leaders of the Durhamville Fire Department are: Fire Chief, Eric Wilcox; Assistant Chief, Keith Brandis; President, Eric Wilcox; Vice President, C. Tim James; Board of Fire Commissioners Chairman, Robert Laurin; Board Secretary, Lori Stoffle; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body cannot express sufficient gratitude to those devoted individuals who recognize that the preservation of life

and property is a sacred responsibility and who make that responsibility their own by serving as firefighters; and

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body that we should give special recognition to those who work so assiduously for the betterment of their communities, and acknowledge publicly the heroic good works performed by the volunteer fire departments of this great Empire State, their officers and auxiliaries; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to proudly commemorate the 100th Anniversary of the Durhamville Fire Department to be celebrated on April 7, 2024; and be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be

Eric Wilcox.		

transmitted to the Durhamville Fire Department Fire Chief and President