2023-K2055

Assembly Resolution No. 2055

BY: M. of A. Gallahan

LEIGLSLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the Hobart College Men's Ice Hockey Team upon the occasion of winning their second consecutive NCAA Division III National Championship

WHEREAS, The New York State Assembly celebrates and recognizes excellence in athletic competition, especially when teams at colleges and universities of our state win a national collegiate championship; and

WHEREAS, For ice hockey players, the road to such excellence begins when young skaters first lace up the skates playing youth hockey, traveling from rink to rink, competing at every level, developing their skills and dreaming of winning games, tournaments, and championships earned through years of practice, dedication, and commitment to the game they love; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Hobart College Men's Ice Hockey Team's winning the NCAA Division III National Championship, with a thrilling 2-0 victory against Trinity College at the March 23, 2024 title game played at Trinity's home rink; and

WHEREAS, This exceptional accomplishment marked Hobart's second consecutive NCAA ice hockey championship, becoming only the 12th college

in collegiate hockey history to win back to back NCAA crowns, capping a 28-2-1 season where the Statesman were ranked number one throughout the season, a year in which Hobart went undefeated in their last 25 games, last having lost a game on November 11th and sharing the record for the 10th longest undefeated streak in Division III history; and

WHEREAS, The distinctive style of the this championship program is led by the guiding vision of Head Coach Mark Taylor, repeatedly recognized with Coach of the Year honors by the AHCA and the USCHO.com as well as honored with the 2024 New England Hockey Conference's Coach of the Year Award; and

WHEREAS, Coach Taylor's style of intense two-way hockey is embraced by every player on the roster, each skilled at immediately transitioning from offense to defense with the skip of a puck making shifts extremely difficult for opposing teams and backed by outstanding goaltending; the results, only 30 goals given up in 31 games - the second best in Division III history, Hobart killed 92 of their opponent's 95 power plays breaking the NCAA season record and recording 13 shutouts matching the NCAA Division III record; and

WHEREAS, Congratulations also go to Hobart's home rink fans supporting this year's home ice 17-0-0 record at the City of Geneva's storied "Cooler" Arena with enthusiasm and appreciation, where the home ice advantage for the last two seasons is an amazing 36-0-0; and

WHEREAS, With every shift, every period, and every game, those fans know of the championship caliber of each of the players we honor today:

Defensemen: Conor Lally, Kevin Lassman, Gagik Malakyan, Bauer Morrissey, Austin Mourar, Matthew Perryman, Cooper Swift, Jared Patterson, and Matthieu Wuth; Forwards: Jonah Alexander, Luke Aquaro, Ignat Belov, Artem Buzoverya, Wil Crane, Tanner Daniels, Chris Duclair Christian Duvall, Tristan Fasig, Kahlil Fontana, Logan Gotinsky, Tanner Hartman, Matthew Iasenza, Mason Mara, Ethan Mulhearn, Shane Shell, and Brandon Sacchetti; Goaltenders: Damon Beaver, Graham Burke, and Mavrick Goyer; and

WHEREAS, These players were supported by Hobart and William Smith President Mark Gearan, Director of Athletics Brian Miller, Head Coach Mark Taylor and his team, Assistant Coach Niko Kovachis, Assistant Coach Derek Berry, Hockey Operations Assistants, Joel Stoneham and Mateo Albinati, Faculty Athletic Fellow John Halfman, Associate Director of Athletic Communications Mackenzie Larsen, Head Equipment Coordinator Kevin McDonald, Assistant Athletic Trainer Sara Moore, Assistant Equipment Manager Nick Prince, and Graduate Assistant Aaron Smith; and

WHEREAS, Among Hobart Hockey's other achievements this season were winning the NEHC Tournament Championship, winning the last 14 games of the season, scoring 161 goals while only allowing 30 goals against in the season's 31 games, allowing only 4 goals against in the NCAA tournament, and winning a nationally noted four-overtime quarterfinal NCAA tournament game becoming the second longest contest in NCAA Division III Men's Hockey game lasting 135:17 minutes; and

WHEREAS, Celebration and recognition is shared by the current and past parents, alumni players, college leadership, and boosters who have supported Hobart Ice Hockey for decades, and we offer special recognition to former Athletic Director Bill Stiles who made the decision in 1977 to elevate the decades-old Hobart Club Hockey Team to the NCAA Division III program we honor today; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body recognizes and honors the Hobart Men's Ice Hockey Team for this second consecutive national title and how they have represented Hobart and William Smith Colleges collegiate ice hockey in the Northeast, and our great State of New York, and for the excitement and inspiration they have provided hockey players and fans of all ages throughout this exciting and impressive season; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the Hobart Men's Ice Hockey Team upon the occasion of winning the NCAA Division III National Championship; and be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the Hobart Men's Ice Hockey Team.