2023-J2658

Senate Resolution No. 2658

BY: Senator PARKER

COMMENDING the New York Chapter of the National Organization of Black Law Enforcement Executives (NOBLE) upon the occasion of hosting their Annual Scholarship and Awards Gala on June 28, 2024

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to take note of and publicly acknowledge individuals who have distinguished themselves through their exemplary careers, accomplishments, and purposeful lives of service to their community and their profession; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its long-standing traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to commend the New York Chapter of the National Organization of Black Law Enforcement Executives (NOBLE) upon the occasion of hosting their Annual Scholarship and Awards Gala on June 28, 2024, in Great Neck, New York; and

WHEREAS, NOBLE was founded in September 1976 during a three-day symposium to address crime in low-income urban areas; the symposium was co-sponsored by the Police Foundation and the Law Enforcement Assistance Administration (LEAA); and

WHEREAS, The Joint Center for Political Studies (JCPS) coordinated this unprecedented event in which 60 top-ranking Black law enforcement executives representing 24 states and 50 major cities gathered in the Washington, D.C. area to participate; they exchanged views about the critically high rate of crime in the Black urban communities and the socio-economic conditions that lead to crime and violence; and

WHEREAS, NOBLE's mission of ensuring equity in Law Enforcement's approach to the communities it serves is also reflected in its annual honoring and conferral of scholarships and awards to gifted students who exemplify that goal and empower themselves to excel for the good of their community; and

WHEREAS, The honorees of 2024 include: Ja-ni Brumfield and Gianna Cook, Howard University; Marley Watts and Lauren Watts, University of Pennsylvania; Caleb Fernandez, Fashion Institute of Technology; Renane Seeram, Hunter College; Timmi Dansby, City Tech; Richard Cleveland, Vaughn College; Christopher Clark, University of Central Florida; Savanna Cadat, Temple University; Arianna Brackett, Benedict College; Mone St. Ann, SUNY Albany; Chanel Fennell, SUNY Old Westbury, and Dasani Johnson, Borough of Manhattan Community College; and

WHEREAS, It is imperative we must also honor Tania Kinsella, First Deputy Commissioner of the NYC Police Department on the conferral of the Wilhelmina Holliday Award; Lynelle Maginley-Liddie, Commissioner of the NYC Department of Corrections on the conferral of the Lloyd G. Sealey Award; Anthony Herbert, NYCHA liaison for the Office of the Mayor of New York, on the conferral of the Benjamin Ward Award, and Aleisha Garvin, Assistant Deputy Director of Nassau County Probation on the conferral of the William Bracey Award; and

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body that when organizations of such noble aims and accomplishments are brought to our attention, they should be celebrated and recognized by all the citizens of the great State of New York; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to commend the New York Chapter of the National Organization of Black Law Enforcement Executives upon the occasion of hosting their Annual Scholarship and Awards Gala on June 28, 2024; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the New York Chapter of NOBLE.