2025-K33

Assembly Resolution No. 33

BY: M. of A. Hawley

CONGRATULATING the Byron-Bergen Girls Varsity Soccer Team upon the occasion of winning the New York State Public High School Athletic Association Class C State Championship title on November 17, 2024

WHEREAS, Individual and team championships are highly sought after in high school sports; this Legislative Body commends rare athletic achievements and pays special recognition to those who pursue such excellence and become examples for the youth of this great Empire State; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition helps to enhance both the moral and physical development of young athletes, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the importance of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Byron-Bergen Girls Varsity Soccer Team upon the occasion of winning the New York State Public High School Athletic Association Class C State Championship title on Sunday, November 17, 2024 to the praise and applause of their excited fans, they defeated Stillwater in a 1-0 victory to capture the Championship; and

WHEREAS, Proudly donning the school's colors of maroon and gray,

family, friends, and the community at large loyally and enthusiastically supported the Bees throughout their journey as they ended their season with an impressive 22-1-1 overall record; and

WHEREAS, In a sport such as soccer which demands athletic prowess, speed and agility, Head Coach Wayne Hill and his expert coaching staff worked hard to hone the skills of this championship team, teaching these outstanding athletes lessons which will prove invaluable both on and off the field; and

WHEREAS, Coach Wayne Hill and all of the outstanding athletes on the Byron-Bergen Girls Varsity Soccer Team have clearly utilized dedication, determination and teamwork in providing a lasting contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the members of the Byron-Bergen Varsity Girls Soccer Team: Janessa Amesbury, Rylee Burch, Emalyn Canfield, Grace DiQuattro, Lea Donafrio, Annie Erion, Ava Goff, Mia Gray, Ava Gray, Megan Jarkiewicz, Emma Mathews, Grace Mundell, Meghan Muscarella, Natalie Prinzi, Lucy Rea, Hannah Reidmiller, Julia Sanso, Ashley Schlenker-Stephens, Riley Shallenberger, Genevieve Smith, Madeline Smith, and Elizabeth Starowitz; Head Coach Wayne Hill; and Assistant Coaches Gina Gray and Grace Campbell; on their outstanding season and overall team record; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the Byron-Bergen Girls Varsity Soccer Team; Head Coach Wayne Hill; Assistant Coaches Gina Gray and Grace Campbell; Athletic Trainer Eric Amschler; Equipment Managers Collin Starowitz, Scarlet Smith, Ava Smith, and Lauren Mundell; and Athletic Director Rich Hannan.