2025-J422

Senate Resolution No. 422

BY: Senator STEC

CONGRATULATING the Adirondack United Girls Ice
Hockey Team and Coach Jeff Willis upon the occasion
of capturing the NYSPHSAA Girls Ice Hockey State
Championship on February 22, 2025

WHEREAS, Individual and team championships are highly sought after in high school sports; this Legislative Body commends rare athletic achievements and pays special recognition to those who pursue such excellence and become examples for the youth of this great Empire State; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition helps to enhance both the moral and physical development of young athletes, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the importance of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Adirondack United Girls Ice Hockey Team and Coach Jeff Willis upon the occasion of capturing the NYSPHSAA Girls Ice Hockey State Championship on Saturday, February 22, 2025; to the praise and applause of their excited fans, the Adirondack United defeated Skaneateles in a 3-1 victory to win the Championship; and

WHEREAS, In a proud display of support, family, friends, and the community at large loyally and enthusiastically cheered on the

Adirondack United throughout their journey as they ended their season with an impressive 12-5 overall record; and

WHEREAS, In a sport such as hockey, which demands athletic prowess, speed, skill, and agility, Head Coach Jeff Willis and his skilled coaching staff worked hard to hone the skills of this championship team, teaching these outstanding athletes lessons which will prove invaluable both on and off the ice; and

WHEREAS, Coach Jeff Willis and all the outstanding athletes on the Adirondack United Girls Ice Hockey Team have clearly utilized dedication, determination, and teamwork in providing a lasting contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of the athletes of this State; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the members of the Adirondack United Girls Ice Hockey Team: Katelin Archer, Lucy Pliscofsky, Lillian Willis, Maeve Mccarty, Aubrey Lozier, Hayley Flewelling, Alyssa Temple, Ciara Gecewicz, Chiara Tuthill, Morgan Oliver, Ella Bray, Maddie Oliver, Ella Carner, Aurora Graham Hayes, Caroline Lieberth, Gianna Marcantonio, Briar Beaney, Kendall Hamm, Emerson Lochner-Fehl, Emma Lemery; Head Coach Jeff Willis; and Assistant Coach Margaret Lawrence on their outstanding season and overall team record (or repeat LR); and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the Adirondack United Girls Ice Hockey Team, Head Coach Jeff Willis, and Assistant Coach Margaret Lawrence.