2025-J529

Senate Resolution No. 529

BY: Senator STEWART-COUSINS

RECOGNIZING the honorees of the New York State Legislative Women's Caucus in conjunction with the observance of Women's History Month

WHEREAS, It is the custom of this Legislative Body to recognize and pay tribute to those women of achievement within this great Empire State who have made strong contributions to their communities and who inspire others through their model citizenship; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its long-standing traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to recognize the honorees of the New York State Legislative Women's Caucus in conjunction with the observance of Women's History Month; and

WHEREAS, The New York State Legislative Women's Caucus (LWC) is a bi-partisan, bi-cameral organization of women elected to the State Legislature; and

WHEREAS, The Legislative Women's Caucus was founded in 1983 by 22 women including former Assemblymember Helene Weinstein, a founding member and former Caucus Chair; and

WHEREAS, Over the past four decades since its inception, women legislators, through the Legislative Women's Caucus, have advocated for a range of policies which promote the equity and inclusion of women, as well as fought for increased resources for women, children, and families throughout the state; and

WHEREAS, As a bipartisan organization, the Legislative Women's Caucus focuses on issues all of its members embrace and promote, including childcare, homecare, equity and mental health; furthermore, members are invited to share their suggestions and concerns, and continuously strive to advocate for the women and children of the State of New York; and

WHEREAS, Today, the Legislative Women's Caucus has 73 members: 51 Assembly members and 22 Senators; truly a historical milestone, this year for the first time in State Legislature history, there are 31 women serving in leadership/chair positions in the Assembly and 17 in the Senate; and

WHEREAS, Each year, members of the Legislative Women's Caucus honor women throughout New York State in celebration of Women's History Month; this year, President Pro Tempore Stewart-Cousins honors Samantha Rosado-Ciriello; Senator Baskin honors Mary Brown; Senator Brouk honors Melanie Funchess; Senator Bynoe honors Lorna R. Lewis, Ed. D.; Senator Cleare honors Debra Frase-Howze; Senator Fahy honors Mayor Kathy Sheehan; Senator Fernandez honors Lisa Louis Burton; Senator Gonzalez honors Dr. Mary Edward Chinn; Senator Helming honors Amy West; Senator Hinchey honors Martha Strever; Senator Krueger honors Sally Greenspan; Senator Martinez honors Dr. Sharon A. Dungee; Senator Mayer honors Judy Trolio; Senator May honors Cha McCoy; Senator Persaud honors Yolanda Reed; Senator Scarcella-Spanton honors Olivia Brennan; Senator Webb

honors Dr. Leslyn McBean-Clairborne; Assemblymember Woerner honors Beverly Lazar Davis; Assemblymember Bailey honors Holly Watson; Assemblymember Barrett honors Jacqueline Salvatore; Assemblymember Bichotte-Hermelyn honors Stephanie Delia; Assemblymember Buttenschon honors Layla Sarkis Zeina; Assemblymember Chandler-Waterman honors Lucina Clarke; Assemblymember Clark honors Ruth Turner; Assemblymember Cook honors Dr. Jean Phelps; Assemblymember Souffrant-Forrest honors Cynthia McKnight; Assemblymember Giglio honors Meaghan Vahy; Assemblymember Glick honors Carla Smith; Assemblymember Griffin honors Karen Lipton; Assemblymember Hooks honors Helen M. Marshall; Assemblymember Hunter honors Elisa Morales; Assemblymember Hyndman honors Jasseth Cox; Assemblymember Jackson honors Beverly Bond; Assemblymember Kassay honors Rabia Aziz; Assemblymember Kay honors Maria Ingrassi; Assemblymember Kelles honors Josephine Gibson; Assemblymember Lee honors Aixa Torres; Assemblymember Levenberg honors Michelle Yvette Kenner-Ng; Assemblymember Lunsford honors Dr. Tasha Potter; Assemblymember Lupardo honors Carole Coppens; Assemblymember McMahon honors Kathy Mobarek-Miller; Assemblymember Paulin honors Rabbanit Atara Linderbaum; Majority Leader Peoples-Stokes honors Eunice Lewin; Assemblymember Robero honors Vickie Smith; Assemblymember Rosenthal honors Emily Jane Goodman; Assemblymember Rozic honors Molly Wang; Assemblymember Seawright honors Lindsey Cormack; Assemblymember Shimsky honors Dr. Linda J. Iverson; Assemblymember Simon honors Amanda Sue Nichols; Assemblymember Solages honors Therese Myers; Assemblymember Tapia honors Lilliam Perez; Assemblymember Torres honors Caridad De La Luz; Assemblymember Valdez honors Dr. Rosamond Gianutsos; Assemblymember Walsh honors Kelly Young; Assemblymember Williams honors Dr. Judy D. Newton; and Assemblymember Zinerman honors Deon Jones; and

WHEREAS, Rare indeed is the impressive dedication shown by an individual for the benefit of others which these extraordinary women have displayed throughout their lives; and

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body that when individuals and organizations of such noble aims and accomplishments are brought to our attention, they should be celebrated and recognized by all the citizens of the State of New York; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to recognize the honorees of the New York State Legislative Women's Caucus, in conjunction with the observance of Women's History Month; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the New York State Legislative Women's Caucus and the aforementioned honorees.