2025-J952

Senate Resolution No. 952

BY: Senator MARTINS

COMMENDING the Port Washington Police Department upon the occasion of hosting its Annual Recognition Night on May 12, 2025, and paying tribute to this year's honorees for acts of bravery, service, and lifesaving actions

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to recognize and honor the courageous and devoted service of the men and women in law enforcement who safeguard the lives and property of citizens in the communities they serve; and

WHEREAS, The Port Washington Police Department, through unwavering commitment to public safety, professionalism, and excellence in duty, continues to exemplify the highest standards of law enforcement; and

WHEREAS, On Monday, May 12, 2025, the Port Washington Police
Department will host its Annual Recognition Night to honor members of
the Department whose exemplary service and courageous actions reflect
great credit upon themselves, their department, and the community they
serve; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to commend the following officers who have been selected to receive the Medal of Commendation, awarded to members who, in the line of police duty, distinguish themselves by acts of courage involving significant personal

hazard in protecting or saving human life, or for the performance of a highly creditable and unusual police-related task: Police Officer, Kristin Kujan, Police Officer Kyle Lewis, Police Officer William McNally, and Police Officer Christopher Mele; and

WHEREAS, The Meritorious Police Service Award is conferred upon those members who distinguish themselves through achievements or service beyond normal expectations, often under unusual or hazardous circumstances, bringing incidents to successful conclusions; the following members are recognized with this high honor: Lieutenant Nicholas Dello-Iacono, Sergeant John Steadman, Detective Jaime Arias, Detective Michele Cetta, Detective Charles Kouvel, and Detective Donald Wilson; and

WHEREAS, The Lifesaving Award is bestowed upon members who, in the performance of duty, render distinguished medical first aid to a person in immediate jeopardy, contributing directly to the person's survival and enabling transportation to a medical facility; the following members are deserving of this prestigious recognition: Sergeant Robert Pape, Police Officer Jimmy Ambroise, Police Officer Zeshan Babar, Police Officer Jordan Caruso, Police Officer Christian Castillo, Police Officer Richard Cuomo (receiving two Lifesaving Awards), Police Officer Kyle DiLeo, Police Officer Kyle Lewis, Police Officer Patrick McKeever, Police Officer William McNally, and Police Officer Lionel Puton; and

WHEREAS, These honors reflect the Port Washington Police

Department's ongoing dedication to protecting and serving the public

with valor, efficiency, and integrity, often placing themselves in harm's way in the preservation of life and safety; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to

commend the Port Washington Police Department upon the occasion of hosting its Annual Recognition Night on May 12, 2025, and to pay tribute to the above-named honorees for their bravery, meritorious service, and lifesaving actions; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the aforementioned honorees.