## 2025-J1160

Senate Resolution No. 1160

BY: Senator O'MARA

CONGRATULATING the Corning-Painted Post Softball Team and upon the occasion of winning the NYSPHSAA Class AAA Softball Championship

WHEREAS, Individual and team championships are highly sought after in high school sports; this Legislative Body commends rare athletic achievements and pays special recognition to those who pursue such excellence and become examples for the youth of this great Empire State; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition helps to enhance both the moral and physical development of young athletes, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the importance of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Corning-Painted Post Softball Team upon the occasion of winning the NYSPHSAA Class AAA Softball Championship; to the praise and applause of their excited fans, the Hawks defeated Fairport in a 8-2 victory to win the Championship; and

WHEREAS, Proudly donning the school's colors of black and gold, family, friends, and the community at large loyally and enthusiastically supported the Hawks throughout their journey as they ended their season with a state title and an impressive overall record; and

WHEREAS, This dedicated and triumphant team is comprised of players ranging from the 7th to 12th grade; this historic win marks the Corning-Painted Post Hawks' first ever NYSPHSAA Class AAA Championship

WHEREAS, In a sport such as softball, which demands athletic prowess, speed, and agility, Coach Michael Johnston and his skilled coaching staff worked hard to hone the skills of this championship team, teaching these outstanding athletes lessons which will prove invaluable both on and off the field; and

WHEREAS, Coach Michael Johnston and all the outstanding athletes on the Corning-Painted Post Softball Team have clearly utilized dedication, determination, and teamwork in providing a lasting contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the members of the Corning-Painted Post Softball Team:

Madeline Payne, Kendall Curreri, Sophie Schoonover, Lauren DeRosa,
Sophia Polzella, Jade Cook, Daphne Sherman, Kayleigh Sparks, Mattisen
Johnston, Hayden Robertson, Emelia Smith, Peyton Sullivan, Hannah
Kauffman, Mia Madden, Caitlyn Harrison, Lauren Mahon, and Sydney Layton;
and Coach Michael Johnston on their outstanding season and overall team
record; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the Corning-Painted Post Softball Team and Coach Michael Johnston.