2009-J2637

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the Warwick Valley High School Boys Lacrosse Team and Coach Graig McElroy as the 2009 Section 9 Class A New York State Lacrosse Champions

WHEREAS, It is acknowledged that excellence and success in competitive sports can be achieved only through strenuous practice, team play, and a spirit that has been nurtured by dedicated coaching and a supportive community; and

WHEREAS, It is also acknowledged that such athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young men and women of our State, preparing them for the future by instilling in them a sense of fair play and the need for discipline, a standard of healthy living, and a desire for excellence and success; and WHEREAS, It is the intent of this Legislative Body to commend and pay tribute to those who, by achieving outstanding success in athletic competition, have inspired others and brought pride to their community; and

WHEREAS, One such outstanding example worthy of our praise and recognition is the Warwick Valley High School Boys Lacrosse Team; it is their first-ever Section 9 championship; and

WHEREAS, At the culmination of a stellar 19-1 season, the Warwick Valley Wildcats, through its exceptional teamwork and talents, captured the New York State Class A Championship for 2009 by defeating No. 2 Valley Central 9-8; and

WHEREAS, Lacrosse, considered to be America's first sport, is one of the fastest growing team sports in the United States; this exhilarating game requires and rewards coordination and agility, quickness and speed, and endurance and solid teamwork; and

WHEREAS, Sports competition instills the values of teamwork, pride and accomplishment, and Coach Graig McElroy and the outstanding athletes on the Warwick Valley High School Boys Lacrosse Team have clearly made a contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to

congratulate the Warwick Valley High School Boys Lacrosse Team; its members: James Kolesar, Russell Broere, Mike Santalla, Mike Grace, Matt Arroyo, James Delaney, Keegan McNamara, Branden Fernandez, Byron Quinn, Tyler Dromgold, Collin Baldwin, Sean McNamara, Shane Marchini, Adam Corbin, John Seebach, Ben Pearce, Mike Hurley, Nick Esch, Jon Roerdan, Tyler Filipowski, Dan Marggraff, Devin Hurley, Steve Conklin, Trevor Ferguson, Emmett O'Brien, Chris Vealey, and Mark Hughes and Assistant Coaches Jeff Quinn, John Kolesar, Dave Kutyla, Pat Rice, and Head Coach Graig McElroy on their outstanding season and overall team record; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the Warwick Valley High School Boys Lacrosse Team and to the aforementioned coaches.