2009-J172

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the Sweet Home Varsity Football
Team and Head Coach John Faller upon the occasion of capturing the New
York State Class A Championship

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can be achieved only through strenuous practice, team play and team spirit, nurtured by dedicated coaching and strategic planning; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the value of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, imparting a desire for success and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, The Sweet Home Varsity Football Team are the New York State Class A Champions; the Panthers defeated the Burnt Hills Spartans by a score of 35-28; and

WHEREAS, The Buffalo-area Section 6 champs completed the season with a perfect record of 13-0; this was Sweet Home's first ever championship victory; and

WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by this team is due in great part to the efforts of Head Coach John Faller and his team of outstanding assistant coaches, skilled and inspirational tutors, respected for their ability to develop potential into excellence; and

WHEREAS, The team's overall record is outstanding, and the team members were loyally and enthusiastically supported by family, fans, friends and the community at large; and

WHEREAS, The hallmarks of the Sweet Home Varsity Football Team, from the opening game of the season to participation in the Championship, were a brotherhood of athletic ability, of good sportsmanship, of honor and of scholarship, demonstrating that these team players are second to none; and

WHEREAS, Athletically and academically, the team members have proven themselves to be an unbeatable combination of talents, reflecting favorably on their school; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach John Faller and his dedicated staff have done a superb job in guiding, molding and inspiring the team members toward their goals; and

WHEREAS, Sports competition instills the values of teamwork, pride and accomplishment, and Head Coach John Faller and these outstanding athletes have clearly made a contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the Sweet Home Varsity Football Team; its members: Dan Ministero, James Foye, Deshanaro Morris, Will Reese, Mikal Coleman, Josh Blango, Ibrahim Ramadan, Casey Kacz, Brandon Hudson, Mike Wolcott, James Cornelius, Mike Lawandus, Amandeep Parmar, Pat McMahon, Levi Laws, Nick Cuviello, Sean Phillips, Manny Reed, Noah Nwachukwu, Josh Perez, Steve Hoechst, Adam Speier, Mike Scott, Gage Bateman, Taylor Heald, Ken Anaya, Steve Spencer, Zach Fumerelle, Ryan Wilson, Matt Zon, Nick Terhaar, Steve Phillips, Alex Olear, Joe Anzalone, Stefan Mendez, Chris Akromas, Anthony Durno, Cory Mitchum, Robert Barnes, Trae Watts, Aaron Foladare, Jon Majdanik, David Shelton, Jamal Mustapha, Jamil Mustapha, Josh Kelly, Mirko Vidovic, Emanuel Green, DJ Nettles, Patrick Kennedy, Dan Lundquist, and Alfred Walker, and Coaches John Faller, Mike Faulks, James Bialasik, Mike Torrillo, and Rob Jurgens on their outstanding season and overall team record; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the Sweet Home Senior High School and to the aforementioned coaches.