2009-K381

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the South Kortright High School Girls Basketball Team and Coach Josh Burroughs upon the occasion of capturing the 2009 Section IV Class D Championship

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can be achieved only through strenuous practice, team play and team spirit, nurtured by dedicated coaching and strategic planning; and WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the value of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, imparting a desire for success and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and WHEREAS, The South Kortright High School Girls Basketball Team are the 2009 Section IV Class D Champions; and WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by this team is due in great part to the efforts of Coach Josh Burroughs and his assistant coach, Nichole VanHoesen, skilled and inspirational tutors, respected for their ability to develop potential into excellence; and WHEREAS, The team's overall record is outstanding, and the team members were loyally and enthusiastically supported by family, fans, friends and the community at large; and WHEREAS, The hallmarks of the South Kortright High School Girls Basketball Team, from the opening game of the season to participation in the Championship, were a sisterhood of athletic ability, of good sportsmanship, of honor and of scholarship, demonstrating that these team players are second to none; and WHEREAS, Athletically and academically, the team members have proven themselves to be an unbeatable combination of talents, reflecting favorably on South Kortright High School; and WHEREAS, Coach Josh Burroughs and his dedicated assistant have done a superb job in guiding, molding and inspiring the team members toward their goals; and

WHEREAS, Sports competition instills the values of teamwork, pride and accomplishment, and Coach Josh Burroughs and the outstanding athletes on

the South Kortright High School Girls Basketball Team have clearly made a contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the South Kortright High School Girls Basketball Team; its members: Cassie McMullen, Marcy Sebastian, Mary Grant, Renee Craft, Teresa Andreno, Cassie Howe, Amber Shortsleeve, Courtenay Chambers, Nikki Holdridge, Tallulah Guadagnino and Robin Ward; Assistant Coach Nichole VanHoesen; and Coach Josh Burroughs on their outstanding season and overall team record; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the South Kortright High School Girls Basketball Team and to Coach Josh Burroughs.