2009-K86

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the John C. Birdlebough High School Wrestling Team of Phoenix, New York, upon the occasion of winning its first ever Section III, Division II New York State Championship

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can be achieved only through strenuous practice, team play and team spirit, nurtured by dedicated coaching and strategic planning; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the value of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, imparting a desire for success and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, The John C. Birdlebough High School Wrestling Team won the Section III, Division II New York State Championship for the first time, defeating the Fulton Wrestling Team who has not lost in over a decade; and

WHEREAS, In addition to winning the New York State Championship, the John C. Birdlebough Wrestling Team also won the Section III duels during the regular season; the team's overall record was 23-1, and in the process of becoming champions broke every school record that Phoenix had ever held; and

WHEREAS, The team's overall record is outstanding, and the team members were loyally and enthusiastically supported by family, fans, friends and the community at large; and

WHEREAS, The hallmarks of the John C. Birdlebough High School Wrestling Team, from the opening match of the season to participation in the championship, were a brotherhood of athletic ability, of good sportsmanship, of honor and of scholarship, demonstrating that these team players are second to none; and

WHEREAS, Athletically and academically, the team members have proven themselves to be an unbeatable combination of talents, reflecting favorably on their school; and

WHEREAS, Sports competition instills the values of teamwork, pride and accomplishment, and these outstanding athletes have clearly made a

contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the John C. Birdlebough High School Wrestling Team; its members: Nick Tighe, Kyle Crisafulli, Talon Sotherden, Tyler Libbey, Rob Lippki, Seth Allen, Brandon Colling, Scott Gardner, Mark Crisafulli, Charlie Nunez, Jared Dietz, Ryan Jones, Austyn Hayes, Jeff Hendrickson, Chad Dahlin, Mike Wilder, and Adam Smith, and Coaches Gene Mills, Tim Boda, Joe Dottolo, and Matt Barnes on their outstanding season and overall team record; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the John C. Birdlebough High School Wrestling Team and to the aforementioned coaches.