2009-J1738

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the Albany County young women receiving the distinguished Girl Scout Gold Award, the most prestigious of Girl Scouting honors, on May 2, 2009

WHEREAS, Katie Benninger, Stacey Flynt, Katie Karvey, Brittany Marrone, Anna Plattner, Lillian Quinn, Jessica Sherry, Katie Shriver, Tara Spahmer, Debbe Stark and Morgan Wilcox, through their diligence and rigorous efforts, have achieved Girl Scouting's highest and most prestigious honor, the Girl Scout Gold Award; and

WHEREAS, Girl Scouts of Northeastern New York will honor these young women of Albany County at a Gold Awards Ceremony to be held at Birch Hill Catering in Schodack, New York on Saturday, May 2, 2009; and WHEREAS, America has achieved her greatest heights of glory through the dedication, determination and tireless efforts of the outstanding citizens of this nation; and

WHEREAS, It is only with the continued diligence and devotion of our youth, tomorrow's leaders, that America will maintain her glory; and WHEREAS, Girl Scouts of America and its members are dedicated to the development of character and leadership in the youth of this nation; and WHEREAS, Since 1980, Senior Girl Scouts have capped their years of achievement in Girl Scouting with the Girl Scout Gold Award; and WHEREAS, In order to earn the Girl Scout Gold Award, a girl must fulfill five requirements; chief among them is the design and completion of a Gold Award Project which must build upon the interests of the girl, provide a service to the community, and be of lasting benefit; and WHEREAS, Katie Benninger, Stacey Flynt, Katie Karvey, Brittany Marrone, Anna Plattner, Lillian Quinn, Jessica Sherry, Katie Shriver, Tara Spahmer, Debbe Stark and Morgan Wilcox have all completed the rigorous requirements for this distinguished award; and WHEREAS, These outstanding young women have been involved in Scouting for years, have lived up to Scouting's ideals and have attained all of the necessary achievements; and WHEREAS, They are a credit to their families, their schools, their

community, their state and their nation, and no doubt their futures will

be filled with accomplishments of equal importance; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations, in recognition of the significance of this meritorious achievement, to congratulate and honor these young women of Albany County upon the occasion of their designation as the recipients of the Girl Scout Gold Award; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to Katie Benninger, Stacey Flynt, Katie Karvey, Brittany Marrone, Anna Plattner, Lillian Quinn, Jessica Sherry, Katie Shriver, Tara Spahmer, Debbe Stark and Morgan Wilcox.