2009-J3516

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the Freeport High School Football

Team and Coach Russ Cellan upon the occasion of capturing the Class I

Long Island Championship

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can be achieved only through strenuous practice, team play and team spirit, nurtured by dedicated coaching and strategic planning; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the value of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, imparting a desire for success and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, The Freeport High School Football Team are the Class I Long Island Champions; they defeated Floyd High School by a score of 38-14; and

WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by this team is due in great part to the efforts of Coach Russ Cellan, a skilled and inspirational tutor, respected for his ability to develop potential into excellence; and

WHEREAS, The team's overall record is outstanding, and the team members were loyally and enthusiastically supported by family, fans, friends and the community at large; and

WHEREAS, The hallmarks of the Freeport High School Football Team, from the opening game of the season to participation in the championship, were a brotherhood of athletic ability, of good sportsmanship, of honor and of scholarship, demonstrating that these team players are second to none; and

WHEREAS, Athletically and academically, the team members have proven themselves to be an unbeatable combination of talents, reflecting favorably on their school; and

WHEREAS, Coach Russ Cellan has done a superb job in guiding, molding and inspiring the team members toward their goals; and WHEREAS, Sports competition instills the values of teamwork, pride and accomplishment, and Coach Russ Cellan and the outstanding athletes on the Freeport High School Football Team have clearly made a contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the Freeport High School Football Team; its members: Isaiah Barnes; Paul Ketchens; Ashanti Foster-Felder; Valon Vailes; Seiji Hinton; Jeff Williams; Michael Groover; Melech Streeter; Dom Albanese; Jahl Burton; Nahiem Loftenant; Chris Key; Trevor Thompson; Dorrington Myers; Justin Staton; Jere Brown; Kevin Allen; Daniel Olivier; Brian Bonora; Darien Merriett; Everrett Roberts; Anthony Martinez; Malek Lewis; Chris Sailsman; Ken Urguhart-Green; Andrew Mosely; Andres Lopez; Karl Downic; Henry Ferreras; Matthew Werner; Corey Bateman; Oscar Bruce; Marquell Green; Robert Morales; Charles Siebert; Cephas Knighton-Ward; Phil Stevenson; Derek Merriett; Keith Russell; Bethel Knodi; David Agu; Jawan Gay; Frank Hermida; Don Medley; Ronne Tillman; Terrell Brown; Joseph Militrano; Scott Richardson; Dequan Henderson; Greg Foster; Steven Rowan; and Anthony Herring, and Coach Russ Cellan on their outstanding season and overall team record; and be it further RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the Freeport High School Football Team and to Coach Russ Cellan.