2009-J4023

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the Chazy Boys Soccer Team and Coach Rob McAuliffe upon the occasion of winning the New York State Public High School Athletic Association Class D Championship

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can be achieved only through strenuous practice, team play and team spirit, nurtured by dedicated coaching and strategic planning; and WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the value of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, imparting a desire for success and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and WHEREAS, The Chazy Boys Soccer Team are the New York State Public High School Athletic Association Class D Champions; on Sunday, November 22, 2009, at the National Soccer Hall of Fame Field in Oneonta, the Eagles defeated Section II Northville by a score of 1-0 to claim its fourth state title in the school's history; and WHEREAS, In addition, the Chazy Boys Soccer Team are Mountain Valley Athletic Conference and Section VII champions; and WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by this team is due in great part to the efforts of Coach Rob McAuliffe, and Assistant Coaches Gaelan Trombley and Jacob Spiegel, skilled and inspirational tutors, respected for their ability to develop potential into excellence; and WHEREAS, The team's overall record of 20-0-2 is outstanding, and the team members were loyally and enthusiastically supported by family, fans, friends and the community at large; and WHEREAS, The hallmarks of the Chazy Boys Soccer Team, from the opening game of the season to participation in the championship, were a brotherhood of athletic ability, of good sportsmanship, of honor and of scholarship, demonstrating that these team players are second to none; and WHEREAS, Athletically and academically, the team members have proven themselves to be an unbeatable combination of talents, reflecting favorably on their school; and

WHEREAS, Coach Rob McAuliffe has done a superb job in guiding, molding

and inspiring the team members toward their goals; and WHEREAS, Sports competition instills the values of teamwork, pride and accomplishment, and Coach Rob McAuliffe and the outstanding athletes on the Chazy Boys Soccer Team have clearly made a contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the Chazy Boys Soccer Team; its members: Ian Anderson, Kyle McCarthy, Cody Toohill, Jordan Barriere, Kaleb Snide, Hunter Dominy, Marc Oshier, Andrew LaPierre, Tyler Bulriss, Nathan Reynolds, Matt Gravelle, Dyllan Duffina, Andrew Duprey, Shea Howley, Frankie Garrow, John Tregan, Michael Sautor, Dillon Hack, Nolan Rogers, Brandon Laurin, Jeff Botten, Andrew Rabideau, and Austin Santor; and Coaches Rob McAuliffe, Gaelan Trombley and Jacob Spiegel on their outstanding season and overall team record; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the Chazy Boys Soccer Team and to the aforementioned coaches.