2009-J4033

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the Marcellus Boys Soccer Team and Coach Jennifer Griffin upon the occasion of capturing the 2009 Section III Class B Title

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can be achieved only through strenuous practice, team play and team spirit that is nurtured by dedicated coaching and strategic planning; and WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the value of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, imparting a desire for success and developing a sense of fair play, teamwork, and competition; and WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to recognize and pay tribute to those young people within the State of New York who, achieving outstanding success in athletic competition, have inspired and brought pride to their high schools; and WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Marcellus Boys Soccer Team and Coach Jennifer Griffin upon the occasion of winning the 2009 Section III Class B Title, and for being the runner up in the 2009 New York State Class B Championship; and WHEREAS, To bring home a Section III Championship, as did the 2009 Marcellus Mustangs, is a wonderful achievement; behind the leadership of Captains Joe Garrant, Jon Quick, Greg Ramsden, and Mike Tao, the Mustangs defeated Skaneateles High School 2-1 to capture the Section III Class B Title; and

WHEREAS, Although the Mustangs suffered a heartbreaking loss in the New York State Class B Championship, they have much to be proud of; with a final record of 19-1-2 Marcellus proved to be one of the most successful boys soccer teams in all of Central New York; and

WHEREAS, No team, no matter how gifted one or a handful of its members may be, can succeed without outstanding talent throughout its entire roster; such was the case for the 2009 Marcellus Mustangs whose players include: Ben Bednarski, Peter Carlton, Allan Donahoe, Sean Dunn, Cal Filtch, Zack Finkle, Joe Garrant, Zack Garrison, Tom Glose, Kyle Jankowski, Chad Johnson, James Kinney, Chris Manke, Kyle Manke, Luke McNaney, Aaron Murphy, Jon Quick, Tom Quinlan, Greg Ramsden, Jose Rodriguez Doran, Neal Scheuermann, Mark Schmidt, Mitch Schoenbrun, Jon Schoonmaker, Mike Tao, Matt Tice, Keith White, and Nate Waite; and WHEREAS, The success of the Marcellus Boys Soccer Team is due in great part to the efforts of Head Coach Jennifer Griffin; her outstanding Assistant Coaches, Jorge Arreguin and Mark Sunheimer; Team Trainer, Amanda Bowman; and Athletic Director, Brad Dates; the team was also assisted by the never-ending encouragement and support of friends, family and the community; and

WHEREAS, The 2009 Mustangs shared noteworthy attributes off the field as well as in competition; individually and collectively, they constantly exhibited good sportsmanship and scholarship, thereby demonstrating to themselves and to others that they have an enviable combination of talent and character which reflects favorably upon their school and their community; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the Marcellus Boys Soccer Team and Head Coach Jennifer Griffin upon the occasion of capturing the 2009 Section III Class B Title, and for being runner up in the New York State Class B Championship Tournament; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the 2009 Marcellus Boys Soccer Team and its coaches.