2009-J4365

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION commemorating the 50th Anniversary of the Women's League of Science and Medicine, Inc. to be celebrated on March 20, 2010

WHEREAS, It is incumbent upon the people of the State of New York to recognize and acknowledge those within our midst who have made significant contributions to the quality of life therein; and WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its longstanding traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to commemorate the 50th Anniversary of the Women's League of Science and Medicine, Inc., to be celebrated at its Annual Scholarship Luncheon on Saturday, March 20, 2010, in Queens Village, New York; and WHEREAS, The theme of this year's Annual Scholarship Luncheon is: "The Dream Lives On": the Women's League of Science and Medicine will take this opportunity to pay just tribute to the extraordinary work of its founders, Reva M. Anthony and Sarah Parsons Blow; and WHEREAS, On March 6, 1960, the Women's League of Science and Medicine emanated from the foresight of these two outstanding women; they realized the need of our Nation to prepare more professionals for the medical and science fields; an appeal went forth and nine individuals answered the call; thus, the Women's League of Science and Medicine, Inc. was established: and WHEREAS, Moreover, the Women's League of Science and Medicine established an annual scholarship fund at Midwood High School, the Science Institute, located in Brooklyn, New York; and WHEREAS, From 1993 to 1999, the Women's League of Science and Medicine administered the prestigious Vivian Harrison Scholarship Endowment Fund; this further enabled the expansion of scholarships to students in the fields of Law, Education, Social Science and Communication; from 2006 through 2008, the Women's League of Science and Medicine awarded 38

scholarships from this renowned endowment fund; and WHEREAS, This year's Scholarship awardees include: Ebony N. Bolt, Nicole J. Bonilla, Kimberly E. Brown, Brianna S. Carter, Zuri S. Dawkins, Keren C. Ennette, Chantel C. B. Grant, Salihah A. Hughson, Nikia Z. Lewis, Jelani W. Magloire, Jasmine Nathaniel, Keisha D. Noel, Osaremi S. Parham, Celeste K. Pinkston, Brandan A. Samuel, Lerone A. Savage, Rebekah C. Severe, Hasani R. L. Smith, Selicia A. Smith, Christina I. Valentin, and Asia A. Williams; and WHEREAS, The Women's League of Science and Medicine has been under the able directions of three presidents, including Sarah Parsons Blow, who served faithfully for 15 years; Reva M. Anthony who served equally as well for 27 years; and the current President, Ellen F. Haywood; and WHEREAS, The members of the Women's League of Science and Medicine both past and present, realizing the value added by their services within the community, have inducted several more dedicated women with whom they can continue their much needed services; as they journey through the new millennium, the Women's League of Science and Medicine, Inc. will continue with their legacy for many years to come; and WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body that when organizations of such noble aims and accomplishments are brought to our attention, they should be celebrated and recognized by all the citizens of this great Empire State; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to commemorate the 50th Anniversary of the Women's League of Science and Medicine, Inc.; and be it further RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to Ellen F. Haywood, President, Women's League of Science and Medicine, Inc.