2009-J4657

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the College of Saint Rose Women's Soccer Team upon the occasion of their appearance in the national semi-finals of the 2009 NCAA Women's College Soccer Championships

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can be achieved only through strenuous practice, team play and team spirit, nurtured by dedicated coaching and strategic planning; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the value of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, imparting a desire for success and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its longstanding traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the College of Saint Rose Women's Soccer Team upon the occasion of their appearance in the national semifinals of the 2009 NCAA Women's College Soccer Championships; and

WHEREAS, The 2009 College of Saint Rose Women's Soccer Team capped an extraordinary season by appearing in the national semifinals of the NCAA Women's College Soccer Championships, losing in overtime by a score of 3-2 to the eventual undefeated national champions; this loss in the semifinal game was the College of Saint Rose Team's only loss of the season; and

WHEREAS, Compiling an outstanding 24-1-0 record for the year, the College of Saint Rose Women's Soccer Team finished the regular season with a perfect 18-0 record and a Northeast Conference record of 15-0; its 24 consecutive wins set a College of Saint Rose school season record, and 18 of these wins were shutouts; and WHEREAS, The College of Saint Rose Women's Soccer Team has appeared in seven NCAA Tournaments in the last eight years; its participation in the

seven NCAA Tournaments in the last eight years; its participation in the 2009 NCAA Final Four was a repeat of its 2008 Final Four appearance; and WHEREAS, Winner of four consecutive Northeast-10 Conference Regular Season Championships, the College of Saint Rose Women's Soccer Team has won three consecutive Northeast-10 Conference Tournament Championships;

it was only the third team in Northeast-10 Conference history to win three consecutive postseason titles; and

WHEREAS, The 2009 College of Saint Rose Women's Soccer Team garnered numerous National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) honors and awards including: Academic All-America Team for nine consecutive years, four All-American players, and two Academic All-American players; the Team also had a Daktronics All-American player and a CoSIDA/ESPN the Magazine Academic All-American; and

WHEREAS, In addition, the Golden Knights of Saint Rose were NCAA statistical leaders by placing second overall in save percentage and win-loss percentage, as well as third in overall goals against average and fourth in shutout percentage; its goalkeeper, Susan Cowan, was the overall NCAA leader in goals against percentage and save percentage; and WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by the 2009 College of Saint Rose Women's Soccer Team is due in great part to the efforts of Head Coach Laurie Darling Gutheil and Assistant Coaches, Kailey Egbert, Jason Gutheil, Matt Jones, Renae Ransdell, Lauren Steinberg, and Mark Van Leuven, skilled and inspirational tutors, respected for their ability to develop potential into excellence; they have done a superb job in guiding, molding and inspiring the 2009 College of Saint Rose Women's Soccer Team members toward their goals; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach Laurie Darling Gutheil was named the NSCAA Division II National Coach of the Year; in her eight years at the helm of

the College of Saint Rose Women's Soccer Team, she has compiled a 135-27-14 record to go along with the Team's Northeast-10 Conference Championships and NCAA Tournament and Final Four appearances; and WHEREAS, The hallmarks of the 2009 College of Saint Rose Women's Soccer Team, from the opening game of the season to its Northeast-10 Conference and Tournament Championships and NCAA Tournament Final Four appearances, were a sisterhood of athletic ability, of good sportsmanship, of honor and of scholarship, demonstrating that these team players are second to none; and

WHEREAS, Athletically and academically, the 2009 College of Saint Rose Women's Soccer Team members have proven themselves to be an unbeatable combination of talents, reflecting favorably on the College of Saint Rose; and

WHEREAS, Sports competition instills the values of teamwork, pride and

accomplishment; Head Coach Laurie Darling Gutheil and her assistant coaches, and the 2009 College of Saint Rose Women's Soccer Team's outstanding athletes have clearly made a contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their college; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the College of Saint Rose Women's Soccer Team; its members: Deanna Esposito, Shannon Murphy, Susan Cowan, Lizzie Shegda, Kira Duran, Courtenay Gannon, Katlynn Knier, Alex Sobchak, Kristen Bidosky, Christy-Lea Smith, Molly Harpster, Kaitlyn Berry (Captain), Nicola D'Errico, Amanda Deck (Captain), Christina Cuffari, Katie Whiting (Captain), Kimberly Morton, Derith Fernandes, Jennifer Mansfield, Brittany Godin, Meagan Mc Kinney, Deanna Wachtel (Captain), Coco Ebersole (Captain), Gianna D'Errico, Jaclyn Evans, Caty Kirk Robins, Amanda Schweers, Kelly Guerin, Alayna Shaw, Marisah Case, Carly Pengelly, and Nicolle Burke; Head Coach Laurie Darling Gutheil and Assistant Coaches Kailey Egbert, Jason Gutheil, Matt Jones, Renae Ransdell, Lauren Steinberg, and Mark Van Leuven; Head Trainer Karen Fischer and Assistant Trainer Jessup Pierce on their outstanding season, their Northeast-10 Conference and Tournament Championships and their NCAA Tournament Final Four participation; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the 2009 College of Saint Rose Women's Soccer Team; Head Coach Laurie Darling Gutheil and Assistant Coaches Kailey Egbert, Jason Gutheil, Matt Jones, Renae Ransdell, Lauren Steinberg, and Mark Van Leuven; and Head Trainer Karen Fischer and Assistant Trainer Jessup Pierce.