2009-K1296

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION honoring the West Genesee Marching Band upon the occasion of winning the New York State Field Band Competition

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to recognize and commend those illustrious organizations of distinguished purposes that have been committed to the pursuit of excellence and that bring great pride to the citizens of our great Empire State; and WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its long-standing traditions, it is the intent of this Legislative Body to honor the West Genesee Marching Band upon the occasion of winning the New York State Field Band Competition Championship; and WHEREAS, To bring home a New York State Championship, as the 2009 West Genesee Marching Band did, is a remarkable achievement; with a first place score of 97.3 in the National Division, West Genesee beat out nine other high schools to secure its 30th New York State Championship in 35 years; and

WHEREAS, With its Picasso themed program, titled The Picasso Project, West Genesee not only achieved competitive success, but also depicted the life and work of Pablo Picasso by incorporating five different movements in their show which were Malaga, The Blue Period, The Rose Period, Cubism, and The Conclusion; and

WHEREAS, No marching band, no matter how gifted one or a handful of its members may be, can succeed without outstanding talent throughout its entire roster; such was the case for the 2009 West Genesee Marching Band whose members include: Alyssa A'Hearn, Patricia Albright, Brittany Andrews, Gabrielle Barone, Erik Breault, Matt Burke, David Bushnell, James Buttner, Anthony Calascibetta, Danny Capucilli, Jenna Carpenter, Kelsey Carpenter, Kendall Carrier, Courtney Cesta, Katelyn Clabaugh, Tim Clark, Brittany Cole, Josh Corcoran, Ryan Cutler, Laura Daniels, Shawn

Kevin Donovan, Michael Dufresne, Brian Erwin, Jonathan Fassinger, Jason Ferguson, Steven Ferguson, Kevin Fitzpatrick, Ryan Fitzpatrick, Sara-Ann Fox, Zach Fox, Connorlyn Gaffney, Loren Gauzza, Allie Gettino, Dan Gilheny, Ryan Grome, Dan Hoffman, Emily Hotaling, Jeff Hotaling, Melody Jacobs, Justin Jarmacz, Richelle Jenkins, Taleah Jernigan, Amanda Jock, James Krisher, Jessica Louise, Kate Luber, Lauren Mason, Michael McCartney, Logan McGuire, Maggie McInerney, Rob Michel, Andrew Miledonis, Matt Miller, Matt Munnett, Colin Murphy, Andrew Nave, Paul Neri, Kristen O'Leary, Dillon Peterson, Nick Plato, Michael Pitzeruse, Taylor Porter, lan Potash, Alyssa Purdy, Emily Rahrie, Britney Ramsden, Lindsey Ramsden, Jayne Reau, Laura Rein, lan Richardson, Miranda Ritchey, Ryan Russell, Adrien Ryan, Ashley Saunders, Emma Sheedy, Matt Sliker, Jenny Smacher, Alexis Smith, Sarah Smith, Bridget Sovocool, Meghan Sovocool, Caroline Spang, Kevan Spencer, Bonnie Stathis, Kayleigh Swan, Anthony Terzolo, Aidan Tracy, Matt Usher, Emily Wagner, Dana Waldby, Brendan Walsh, Mariah Wassel, Eric Weller, Lauren White, Ben Widrick, Brittany Wilson, Shannon DeSellems, and Rosie Sovocool; and WHEREAS, The success of the West Genesee Marching Band is due in great part to the efforts of Director Michael Stachnik and his outstanding staff members: Greg Borsz, Kevin Dimmel, Nick Baratta, Sam Bianco, Caroline Brackett, Dan Campbell, Laura Cantone, James Cole, Marcie DeRito, Brian Fulmer, Sam Gervaise, Martha Grener, Kevin Kemp, Dan MaCollum, Andy Perry, Eva Siskowski, and Clint Williams; the band was also assisted by the never-ending encouragement and support of friends, family and the community; and

Davern, Jelissa De la Rosa, Lauren DeJohn, Ryan Devlin, Emily Dipaola,

WHEREAS, The 2009 West Genesee Marching Band shared noteworthy attributes both off the field and in competition; individually and collec-

tively they constantly exhibited good sportsmanship and scholarship, thereby demonstrating to themselves and to others that they have an enviable combination of talent and character which reflects favorably upon their school and their community; now, therefore, be it
RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to
congratulate the West Genesee Marching Band and Director Michael
Stachnik upon the occasion of winning the New York State Field Band
Competition; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the 2009 West Genesee Marching Band, and its Director Michael Stachnik and his staff.