2009-J4972

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION commending the Ulster County Police Chief's Association upon the occasion of its annual Awards Banquet and paying tribute to its 2010 honorees

WHEREAS, It is the custom of this Legislative Body to recognize and honor those distinguished officers and citizens who devote themselves to public service, demonstrating great courage and diligence in providing for the care and welfare of the citizens of their communities and this great Empire State; and

WHEREAS, Within every community of the State of New York, there are certain individuals who, by virtue of their commitment and dedication, command the respect and admiration of their community for their exemplary contributions and service on behalf of others; and WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its longstanding traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to commend the Ulster County Police Chief's Association upon the occasion of its annual Awards Banquet and paying tribute to its 2010 honorees; and WHEREAS, This year's banquet will be held at the Hillside Manor in Kingston, New York, on Wednesday, May 5, 2010; and WHEREAS, The Meritorious Police Service Award for Heroism recipients are Trooper Joseph P. Sinagra, Jr. (NYSP Highland), and Trooper Matthew A. Schaffer (NYSP Highland), and the Meritorious Citizenship Award for Heroism will go to Bridget Ingram of Marlboro, New York, and Takiyah Ingram of Poughkeepsie, New York; these four individuals worked collectively to prevent a suicidal man from harming himself; and WHEREAS, Sergeant Joseph Laquidara (Village of Saugerties Police Department), Officer Sidney Mills (Village of Saugerties Police Department) and Officer Joseph Sanford (Town of Saugerties Police Department) will also receive the Meritorious Police Service Award for Heroism in

honor of their actions in response to a rollover vehicle with six passengers which was in danger of possibly exploding or catching fire; and

WHEREAS, The Meritorious Police Award for Investigation will be given to Detective Debra Montgomery (UCSO) and Deputy Sean McMahon (UCSO); the Meritorious Citizenship Award in Justice will be bestowed upon Payton L. Ducker; these individuals worked together in an on-line chat room conversation which led to the prevention of a school shooting; and WHEREAS, The SP Ellenville BCI will receive the Meritorious Police Service Award for Investigation in recognition of solving a 1996 murder case; and

WHEREAS, Detective Abram Markiewicz (UCSO) is a member of the Family Violence Unit and has earned the Meritorious Police Service Award in honor of his conviction of a mother who had harmed her child; also receiving this award are Detective Fred Holland (Shandaken Police Department), Deputy Chad Storey (UCSO) and Deputy Hadeer Omar (UCSO) who collectively solved a homicide in Tonawanda, New York; and WHEREAS, In addition, Sergeant Gerald Marlatt (Town of Shawangunk Police Department) and Officer Gregory Drobot (Town of Shawangunk Police Department) will receive the Meritorious Police Service Award for their use of license plate readers to aid in retrieval of stolen property and the arrest of subjects; Deputy Francis Gillespie (UCSO) will also receive this honor due to his response and pursuit of a vehicle that led to an arrest after a home invasion/fatal shooting; and WHEREAS, Corrections Sergeant Charles J. Pollaco, III (UCSO) will receive the Meritorious Police Service Award for Community Service in honor of his efforts in coordinating the H1N1 vaccine; and

WHEREAS, The Meritorious Police Service Award for a Team/Unit will be bestowed upon both the URGENT Team and the UC Crisis Negotiation Team in recognition of their unwavering and continued service to the community; and WHEREAS, The Meritorious Police Service Award for Lifesaving will be given to Trooper Kevin P. Kesick (NYSP Shokan) who performed CPR on a man and ultimately saved his life; Sergeant Michael Smith (Town of Shawangunk Police Department) and Officer Gregory Drobot (Town of Shawangunk Police Department) will also receive this award after responding to a structure fire and safely evacuating 11 people; and WHEREAS, Christopher Swanson of West Hurley, New York, will be presented the Meritorious Citizenship Award for Heroism; while serving as a Lifeguard, he performed CPR on a drowning victim until the rescue squad arrived; and

WHEREAS, Church Communities International will receive the Meritorious Citizenship Award for Justice for their continued dedication to bettering the quality of life for all members of the community; and WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body that when individuals and organizations of such noble aims and accomplishments are brought to our attention, they should be celebrated and recognized by all the citizens of the great State of New York; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to commend the Ulster County Police Chief's Association upon the occasion of its annual Awards Banquet and paying tribute to its 2010 honorees; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the Ulster County Police Chief's Association and the aforementioned honorees.