2009-J5090

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating Beth Fiteni, Karen Joy Miller, and Laura Weinberg upon the occasion of their designation as recipients of the 2010 United States Environmental Protection Agency Environmental Quality Award

WHEREAS, Individuals who give of their time and energies and serve the best interests of their communities are an asset beyond remuneration and cannot be sufficiently extolled; and

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to recognize that the quality and character of life in the communities across New York State are enhanced by the concerned and dedicated efforts of organizations and individuals that generously contribute to the welfare of the community and its citizenry; and

WHEREAS, Beth Fiteni, Karen Joy Miller, and Laura Weinberg have given not only of their time and energies but also of their competence, intelligence and leadership, and consequently have been designated for special recognition; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its long-standing traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate Beth Fiteni, Karen Joy Miller, and Laura Weinberg upon the occasion of their designation as recipients of the 2010 United States Environmental Protection Agency Environmental Quality Award; and WHEREAS, Each April the United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), Region 2, honors individuals and organizations who have significantly improved the environment in New Jersey, New York, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands; and

WHEREAS, The United States EPA's Environmental Quality Award represents its highest honor awarded to the public sector; and WHEREAS, Beth Fiteni, Karen Joy Miller, and Laura Weinberg are the recipients of the 2010 EPA Environmental Quality Award; their organizations, Huntington Breast Cancer Action Coalition, Inc., Great Neck Breast Cancer Coalition, and Neighborhood Network, have demonstrated an outstanding commitment to protecting and enhancing environmental quality and public health; and

WHEREAS, Pillars of perseverance in their community, Beth Fiteni, Karen Joy Miller, and Laura Weinberg are amazing women and a powerful example of combining diverse and extensive backgrounds to advocate for environmental health and legislation through partnership efforts; and WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body that when individuals of such noble aims and accomplishments are brought to our attention, they should be recognized by all the citizens of this great Empire State; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate Beth Fiteni, Karen Joy Miller, and Laura Weinberg upon the occasion of their designation as recipients of the 2010 United States Environmental Protection Agency Environmental Quality Award; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to Beth Fiteni, Karen Joy Miller, and Laura Weinberg.