LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the Westhill Boys Basketball Team and Coach Kevin King upon winning the 2010 New York State Class B Championship

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can be achieved only through strenuous practice, team play and team spirit, nurtured by dedicated coaching and strategic planning; and WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the value of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, imparting a desire for success and developing a sense of fair play, teamwork, and competition; and WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to recognize and pay tribute to those young people within the State of New York who, achieving outstanding success in athletic competition, have inspired and brought pride to their high schools; and WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Westhill Boys Basketball Team and Head Coach Kevin King upon the occasion of capturing the 2010 Class B Section III and the 2010 New York State Class B Championships; and WHEREAS, To bring home a sectional title, as did the 2010 Westhill Warriors, is a remarkable achievement; the Warriors won the Class B Section III Championship with a 63-50 victory over Bishop Grimes; and WHEREAS, The Warriors continued their success throughout the New York State Class B Championship Tournament, and went on to win the 2010 title by defeating John S. Burke Catholic, 60-51; they completed their championship season with an impressive final record of 22-2; and WHEREAS, In addition to the incredible team success, the Westhill Warriors achieved numerous individual milestones this season as well:

Kevin King was named co-coach of the year, senior Dan Ross was named to the All State First Team, Liberty Division First Team, and All CNY First Team, and senior Mike McMullen was named to the All State First Team, Liberty Division Second Team, and All CNY Second Team; and WHEREAS, No team, no matter how gifted one or a handful of its members may be, can succeed without outstanding talent throughout its entire roster; such was the case for the 2010 Westhill Warriors whose players included: Gino Sgroi, JT Alcaro, Dan Karleski, Justin Biles, Mark McAnaney, Cory Hewitt, Mike McMullen, Jalen Robinson, Kevin McAvoy, Ryan Boyle, Nathan Nigolian, Dan Ross, Tom Fisher, Joe Meluni, and Peter Valenti; and

WHEREAS, The success of the Westhill Boys Basketball Team is due in great part to the efforts of Head Coach Kevin King and his outstanding Assistant Coaches who include Jon Connelly, Kevin Wolfe, and Brian Gehm; the team was also assisted by the never-ending encouragement and support of friends, family and the community; and

WHEREAS, The 2010 Warriors shared noteworthy attributes off the field as well as in competition; individually and collectively, they constantly exhibited good sportsmanship and scholarship, thereby demonstrating to themselves and to others that they have an enviable combination of talent and character, which reflects favorably upon their school and their community; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the Westhill Boys Basketball Team and Head Coach Kevin King on their most successful season; and be it further RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the 2010 Westhill Boys Basketball Team and its Coaches.