## 2009-J6272

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the West Genesee Boys Lacrosse Team and Head Coach Mike Messere upon their 2010 Section III Class A Championship

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can be achieved only through strenuous practice, team play and team spirit that is nurtured by dedicated coaching and strategic planning; and WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the value of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, imparting a desire for success and developing a sense of fair play, teamwork, and competition; and WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to recognize and pay tribute to those young people within the State of New York who, achieving outstanding success in athletic competition, have inspired and brought pride to their high schools; and WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the West Genesee Boys Lacrosse Team and Head Coach Mike Messere upon winning the 2010 Section III Class A Championship; and WHEREAS, To bring home a Section III Championship, as did the 2010 West Genesee Wildcats, is a wonderful achievement: the Wildcats won their ninth consecutive Section III Class A Championship with an 8-3 victory over Corcoran; and WHEREAS, Although the Wildcats suffered a heartbreaking loss in the regional round of the New York State Class A Championship they have much to be proud of; with a final record of 16-4, West Genesee proved itself, once again, to be one of the most successful boys lacrosse teams in New York: and

WHEREAS, No team, no matter how gifted one or a handful of its members

may be, can succeed without outstanding talent throughout its entire roster; such was the case for the 2010 West Genesee Wildcats, whose players included: Cody Hoose, Chris Murphy, Ian Farley, Andy Milne, Patrick Brown, Ryan Tinklepaugh, Adam King, Connor Khammer, Tim Birchler, Scott Sidnam, Casey Schattner, Mike Stoianoff, Tim McMahon, Dan Ginestro, JD St. Croix, Dylan Donahue, Teddy Glesener, Brandon Dzwonkowski, Bob Gasparini, Corey Herrington, Hunter Baule, John Sabert, Joe Fletcher, Jake Sutherland, Dylan Lyons, Matt Schattner, Dalton Raymond, Jim Cordon, Sean Biggie, Tim Barber, and John Glesener; and WHEREAS, The success of the West Genesee Boys Lacrosse Team is due in great part to the efforts of Head Coach Mike Messere, his outstanding Assistant Coach Bob Deegan, and ball boys Nick O'Neill, Tyler Shoults, Jacob Sparks, and Liam St. Croix; the team was also assisted by the never-ending encouragement and support of friends, family and the community; and

WHEREAS, The 2010 Wildcats shared noteworthy attributes off the field, as well as in competition; individually and collectively, they constantly exhibited good sportsmanship and scholarship, thereby demonstrating to themselves and to others that they have an enviable combination of talent and character which reflects favorably upon their school and their community; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the West Genesee Boys Lacrosse Team and Head Coach Mike Messere for an extremely successful 2010 season, which included capturing a Section III Class A Title; and be it further RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the 2010 West Genesee Boys Lacrosse Team and its coaches.