## 2011-K123

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION commemorating the 167th Anniversary of the Dominican Republic Independence to be celebrated on February 27, 2011

WHEREAS, It is the practice of this Legislative Body to commemorate historical events which exemplify the spirit and struggle of people throughout the world to achieve independence and live in peace and freedom; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its longstanding traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to commemorate the 167th Anniversary of the Dominican Republic Independence to be celebrated on Sunday, February 27, 2011; and

WHEREAS, The people of the Dominican Republic acquired their independence on February 27, 1844; and

WHEREAS, Each year, this auspicious occasion is celebrated and provides an opportunity for all people to reflect upon the rich history of the Dominican Republic and the many contributions of Dominicans to our great State and our country, as well as the world; and WHEREAS, February 27th has been designated as Dominican Independence Day in the State of New York; and

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body that those who enhance the well-being and vitality of their community and have shown a long and sustained commitment to excellence certainly have earned the recognition and applause of all the citizens of this great Empire State; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to commemorate the 167th Anniversary of the Dominican Republic Independence to be celebrated on February 27, 2011; and be it further RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to Rafael Evans, Consul General of the Dominican Republic in New York, Ambassador Francis Lorenzo of the Dominican Republic Mission to the United Nations, Congressman Jose Serrano, Juan Manuel Lebron, Pedro Alvarez, Manuel Burgos, Cira Angeles, Raysa Castillo, Denise Dominguez, Cirilo Moronta, Juan Romero, David Corona, Benny Rodriguez, Belkis Lora, Manuel Lantigua, Baja Eldana, Jean Fritz, Fidel Casilla, Maximo Padilla,

Carlos Blanco, Rose Pineiro, Deboralee Santos, and various Dominican organizations across New York State.